Mini Veal Meat Pies

I forget where I was lurking but I saw this website called A Bloke Who Can Cook and liked the name.  I took a quick look at the site and saw a fantastic leek and chicken pie that I intend to try one day.  I thought that was what I was going to make today but lost focus and made these little veal and mushroom patties.

I really never make any pastry like items because I find them too fiddly; quiche, tartes and the occasional pie is as far as I’m willing to go.   I don’t know why I decided to do this but I can say I was influenced by this site:  http://www.mariusbymichelchapoutier.com.   In any case, I only made 4 of these and then went on to make a small pie that I will bake for lunch or dinner over the weekend.  I don’t mind admitting that the baking thing is not really my forte but I’ve learned to live with it :)

Starring soon in a kitchen near you, the ruby tajine!  “There’s no place like home”.

I know, completely “hors sujet” but I made the call.

I’d also like to mention an app I just bought for my Ipad 2 called Southern Burgundy Explorer.    I am so pleased!    It works on ipad/iphone/ipod and can be purchased through the apple store. Whether you live in France, are considering a visit to France,  or would just like to know more about the Burgundy region, this is a great application with insider information on where to stay, what to see, do and eat.  You can learn more about this app at www. americansinfrance.net

Veal Meat Pies 

1 lb boneless veal, cut into small pieces

Salt and pepper

Flour

2 tbsp olive oil

1 onion, finely chopped

2 large garlic cloves, finely chopped

1/2 lb mushrooms, cut into small pieces

2 dried thyme sprigs

1 bay leaf

3 tbsp parsley, chopped

2 cups chicken broth

2 cups frozen peas

Pre-rolled or home made pastry like frugal’s http://frugalfeeding.wordpress.com/2011/09/21/how-to-make-perfect-shortcrust-pastry/

Salt and pepper the veal and dust with flour.   Fry in the olive oil until golden, then add the onion, garlic, mushrooms thyme, bay leaf and parsley, stirring for about 3 minutes. Add the chicken broth, bring to a boil, then lower and simmer for 1 hour, stirring occasionally.   Stir in the frozen peas and allow to cool.

To make the patties, cut the pastry into 8 circles, put some of the filling in the middle of 4 circles, cover with the remaining circles, sealing with fork tines and bake for about 20 minutes in a 400 degree oven.  Left over filling can be used to make a one crust pie or more patties.

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Cooking, Food and Wine, French, Main dishes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Mini Veal Meat Pies

  1. I wonder how well this would work with ground veal. Our grocery has started carrying it (this is our regular one, not the fancy pants one) and Katherine has said it should be in our freezer at all times. They may decide we’re the only ones buying it. I digress…. This looks amazing. I like the bloke. He’s teaching me Canadian slang.

  2. The frequency of your blogs puts me to shame a little :(. these pies look so cute! Nicely decorated, very inventive. Beautiful tajine by the way!

  3. ceciliag says:

    I love meat pies, and i have a pastry recipe using a food processor because I love meat pies so much that i had to learn to make pastry FAST. And thank you for posting this because I was agonising over what to make for dinner.. god knows i have enough steak in the freezer! and i have these darling little pie dishes i have been dying to use..good very good.. c

  4. This looks so good! What a nice idea to put little pastry mushrooms on top. So cute!

  5. What a lovely little pies! I think there’s something so comforting about pies, especially in this season!

  6. Cayla says:

    these pot pies look tasty! i probably wouldn’t make them w/ veal (…just because i can’t bring myself to eat veal), but i’m dying to know what you bake these in? I want to be able to make individual pot pies this winter and freeze them for an evening I don’t have time to cook. any suggestions?

  7. I follow A Bloke Who Can Cook as well. Your pies look great.

  8. Carole says:

    Lovely work! Would you be happy to link it in to the current Food on Friday which is about veal? This is the link . I do hope to see you there. Cheers

  9. Carole says:

    Rosemary, thanks for adding to the veal collection. I’ve put the name of your dishes in for you – no worries. Have a great weekend.

  10. Jess says:

    I love meat pies! I’ve never cooked veal before, but these look really good :-)

Leave a Reply

