Honey Mustard Chicken and Sweet Potatoes

Before I moved permanently to France, we used the house for summer and Christmas holidays.  Naturally, we furnished it with enough to make for upscale camping and purchased cleaning tools and supplies.  We soon learned that the French didn’t share our cultural concepts of mop and broom.  Insensitively, we childishly laughed out loud, for a long time in the store, at the broom and mop we were forced to buy.  Needless to say, after the holidays we ordered dozens of brooms and “prison” mop heads from the States to be shipped to the house in France.

My stove care giver also comes in for 2 hours on Tuesdays to help with general house care. This morning he pointed at my broom and said, “sorcerer”.   Puzzled, I said, no American. He then pretended to mount the broom and repeated “sorcerer” or witch.   Do you think he was talking about me or the broom?

This is a fabulously, wonderful, easy, honey mustard chicken and sweet potato roast.  If you are vegetarian, just don’t add the chicken and roast the potatoes with onions, thyme and the sauce.  I would eat that.  These sweet potatoes were imported to France from Texas and it was these that inspired my recipe!   Yee-hah!

The reason I started to blog was that I was bored without a job.  My son first suggested that I start a restaurant.   Not.  Then, because he noticed my interest in cooking blogs, he suggested I start my own blog.  Well hey!  That sounded like fun to me and maybe I could learn to take some of those gorgeous pictures I saw on my favorite blogs!   What the heck, I got a tattoo at 55, time for something just as exciting!   So I started my blog, for fun.  And fun I have been having; I’ve learned a lot about cooking, photography, been turned on to really cool books and have met some new people.  Great!

Guys, we don’t have to do the foodbuzz thing and vote for our “friends” whether their food is interesting or not.   That’s not fun or honest and that’s why I had foodbuzz delete my account.   Hopefully, people don’t expect you to respond to every one of their posts, unless you want to and/or have the time.   Maybe one or two particular posts don’t interest you, and that’s okay.  Likewise you shouldn’t expect others to respond to each of yours.

I’m not going to Nepal like Roger but I will have a no pressure, fun blog or go back to doing genealogy.  I’m just saying.  And remember, there is nothing at all wrong with fanatically taking pictures of food as long as it pleases you :)  Look at that onion!

Honey Mustard Chicken and Sweet Potatoes 

6 chicken thighs

2 sweet potatoes, cut into Japanese chaos chunks

2 onions, quartered

1/4 cup melted butter

1/4 cup honey

1/4 cup Dijon mustard

Fresh thyme sprigs

Put the thighs, potatoes and onions in a large bowl.   Whisk the butter, honey and mustard together and pour half over the chicken.   Toss in some thyme and mix.

Place the potatoes and onions in a tajine.   Put the chicken on top and cover.  Roast for 30 minutes in a 400 degree oven.  Remove from the oven and baste with remaining sauce. Cook for another 15 minutes and baste again, returning to the oven for a final 15 minutes.

Wine suggestion:  Brouilly Beaujolais

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in American, Cooking, Food and Wine, Main dishes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

46 Responses to Honey Mustard Chicken and Sweet Potatoes

  1. Excellently put, Madame la Sorciere.

  2. If I ever see a post of yours that bores me I won’t come by, but yours always look so great I have to come! Love the broom story, makes me want to watch Fantasia.

  3. ambrosiana says:

    Wise wise words Rosemary!!! This is why I really enjoy reading your blog and looking at your wonderful pictures!!! About the broom, I do not know French people, but I know that people in the countryside are very superstitious so I guess it’s all about it….I love sweet potatoes a lot, and I think the pairing with mustard makes a heavenly taste!!!

    • Thank you Ambrosiana. The honey mustard was really a great flavor with the sweet potatoes. I wasn’t sure but I made sure not to over whelm it with the honey. I’ll definitely make this again

  4. gridelle says:

    Mmmmm! what a pleasant meal!!!!!

  5. ceciliag says:

    Exactly, lets have fun with it! and it is true.. i am learning so much from the other food bloggers and study photo blogs and writing blogs too.. but is there a movement Away from commenting?, because I like to comment, i like the human connection of the blog world too, that is why i posted what i did today.. have fun! I think sometimes we don’t realise that the pressure we are feeling is being applied by OURSELVES! .. american brooms are pretty cool! and for the record i love honey and mustard together too! c

    • You are so right about the pressure being applied by ourselves. You know how it is when you are invited to some one’s home and then you worry that you have to get around to inviting them back, and feel guilty if you don’t? I think the comment thing is turning into that. I never cared if people invited me back; if I enjoyed having them, I would invite them whether they invited me or not. It has to be that way! Comment as much as you want.

      • ceciliag says:

        Ok, i am with you now. I don’t go to a blog just to comment so they will comment, I go to see what I can make for dinner! But thank you for answering me so carefully that was very cool.. so.. did you really get a tattoo when you were 55!! wow! c

  6. Yes, I did. My friend who lives in Miami and is my age got one and when we went to visit her she took me to this very nice tattoo boutique in an upscale area. My husband, daughter and son came also to hold my hand. It was nothing like I expected (Hell’s Angels bikers hanging out in front), there was a nice young woman who had a diploma in tattoo-age? Anyway, she was clean and neat and not bikerish at all. Sticking the needles in to make the pattern doesn’t hurt so much. It’s when she applied the color into the pierced and tender skin. That hurt. Of course I didn’t get half my body or anything covered with a tattoo, that would have been a sign of early senility! I have a small rose above my left ankle. It took about 30 minutes.

  7. Mmm…. This recipe looks easy & yummy. I have been craving some saucy, dark meat chicken.

  8. Veronika says:

    Beautiful photos, and it sounds like a wonderful recipe to try for a lazy weekend meal.

    Also, I have to say that I agree with you regarding the pressure and the frequent loss of joy that comes with it. I write my blog because I love food, love photographing it, love talking about it, and love having a place to say what I think or feel like about it – it’s not a popularity contest, though sadly a lot of things can frequently make you [me] feel it is. That’s when I put the laptop down, and go for a walk. Or cook something that boyfriend would just love to eat instead (I’m lucky, he’s a skinny sort I can feed to my heart’s content!).

    And hey, looks like Rufus reads this, too! *waves* Small blogosphere!

  9. looks fabulous! very surprised that the sweet potatoes came all the way from texas!

  10. Cookie says:

    Sweet potatoes are just perfect now that we’re heading into fall!

  11. Ashley says:

    I suppose you leave the skin on the chicken thighs? Have you tried this without skin?
    Thanks for posting!

  12. I just wanna peel off that skin and munch it.

  13. Pingback: Balsamic Lamb and Twice Cooked Sweet Potatoes | Cooking in Sens

  14. The Cook says:

    And now I MUST buy a tajine and make this chicken immediately after.

  15. Pingback: Good Ole Girl Lunch | Cooking in Sens

  16. terri says:

    any suggestions for a substitution if someone doesnt happen to own a tajine?

    • Hi terri. Buy one or use a baking pan with aluminum foil for a top? There really isn’t a substitute for cooking in a clay roaster but you could still get a good tasting meal.

  17. michellefr says:

    In your pictures appear some carrots and you didn’t mention them in the recepies.:P
    Is it necessary to use a tajine? I dont have one and I dont think i can find one in my country.. Can I use something else?

  18. I think you probably have sweet potatoes also but they just aren’t orange; they are probably white but sweet. Use a baking pan and cover with aluminum foil.

  19. Hi there/ I’m using the comment box as email as I’ve lost yours through the hackers who have stolen my gmail. I’m not getting your posts either, even though I’ve redirected them to my new email roger.stowell@hotmail.com
    Send me an email so I can retrieve your email address
    All the best
    Roger

  20. Melissa99 says:

    Thanks for the recipe! Will definitely be making this again. I used chicken legs instead of thighs, and I didn’t have any thyme but did have sage around so I used that, and it was good with those substitutions. And, for those who don’t have the clay pot…I used a regular glass baking dish, oiled it lightly then put the potatoes and onions down in the pan in one layer, then topped it with the chicken.

  21. Aimée says:

    My sister-in-law made this for us on a visit home 2 weeks ago and it was so delicious, I couldn’t wait to make it for my family. It’s in the oven now and it smells great! Hope I do it justice!!

  22. Pingback: Honey Mustard Roasted Duck Legs with Pears | Cooking in Sens

  23. Pingback: Ribs, Wings and Yams | Cooking in Sens

  24. Pingback: coconut ginger maple chicken with sweet potatoes «

  25. deedle2038 says:

    I just made this last night (I added salt, pepper, paprika, and sauteed a bit of red onion and pressed garlic in the butter), and wow — it was one of the best chicken dishes I’ve made. also, a BIG miracle: the first time the kids have happily eaten sweet potatoes. this is so much more than the sum of its parts; thank you for sharing!

Leave a Reply

