Tajine Roasted Veal

I usually make this roast in a big pot on top of the stove but since I still have to justify the purchase of the tajine, http://cookinginsens.wordpress.com/2011/09/15/lamb-tajine-with-potatoes-and-chickpeaslam/ well you understand.  I love it that you can use the tajine on top of the stove and/or in the oven.

Brown first the roast and then the vegetables in the bottom of the tajine.

The roast cooks on a bed of vegetables, with the tajine top on, in a 375 degree oven

The finished dish is a tender, juicy roast with a robust sauce flavored with peppers, onions and garlic.  Garlic smashed potatoes and roasted brussel sprouts complete this celebratory meal.

Tajine Roasted Veal

Veal rolled roast, 2-3 lbs

2 tbsp olive oil

1 tbsp butter

1 onion, sliced

3 shallots, sliced

3 garlic cloves, slivered

1 red bell pepper, sliced

1 green bell pepper, sliced

1/2 cup white wine

Brown the roast in the butter and oil.   Remove from tajine and set aside.   Saute the onion, shallots and garlic for about 5 minutes, then add the peppers and continue to saute for 2 minutes.   Place the veal on top of the vegetables and pour the wine over all.   Put the tajine top on a cook in the oven for 45 minutes.   Remove the tajine top and continue to cook for 15 minutes.

Wine suggestion:   Le Clos du Chateau, Rose

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in American, Cooking, Food and Wine, Main dishes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Tajine Roasted Veal

  1. foodyrach says:

    One pot meals like this are fabulous.

  2. Tessa says:

    Very interesting! I have never cooked with a tagine. Now I am tempted to invest in one. Beautiful dish, beautiful photos!

    • This is a great kitchen tool to have. You don’t have to necessarily make anything Moroccan. I really like this, even better than my clay pot. If you wanted you could also just put the top on and continue to cook on the stove top. Great for when it’s too hot to use the oven.

  3. ceciliag says:

    Lovely, though i am not sure i approve of veal, it is very tasty.I just love that sweet tajine.. i must do some investigating into finding one!

  4. Ali says:

    mouth watering… looks really delicious. your veal makes me want to wake up my lay self and head for the kitchen :) looks really really good!!!!

  5. Looks just amazing. You always choose the best ingredients.

  6. Anna says:

    Perfect roast! I am ready to make my version more garlic-ky!!! Love your recipe!

  7. Nice idea – we had tajine yesterday – I just love it.

  8. Peggy says:

    Oh my goodness this looks amazing! Might have to be on the lookout for a tagine now!

  9. ambrosiana says:

    That is delicious!! You made me want to buy a Tajine pot!! I don’t know if I can find it in Italy though!

  10. Pingback: Seafood Ramekin | Cooking in Sens

Leave a Reply

