Meatball and Bean Soup

Although we’re having this absolutely, ridiculous heat wave after a summer of near winter temperatures, my thoughts are still turning towards the fantastic comfort foods that I like to make this time of year.

I found these beans in the supermarket labeled, “red beans in pod”.  Very pretty, I had to have some!

This was also a good opportunity to work up the courage to use my EF 12 II extension for my lens to try for close-ups.    Thanks for the recommendation, Roger.  I actually managed to focus with the extension and got a nice, satisfying beep and red light on manual.   I was pleased.

I made this soup by first simmering veal meatballs in a vegetable-chicken broth, removing them when cooked and then adding the beans to slowly simmer, thickening the broth into a nice, rich potage.  I love to cook like this; adding whatever I think might work.   I was considering adding some fresh spinach and a few chopped tomatoes but as the soup cooked, it looked right so I pretty much forgot that I wanted to add something else.

Meatball and Bean Soup

1 onion, cut in half and thinly sliced

3 garlic cloves, chopped

1 celery stalk, thinly sliced

1 carrot, thinly sliced

2 tbsp butter

1 tbsp Mexican chili powder

1 tbsp oregano

1 tsp cumin, ground

1 tsp coriander, ground

8 cups chicken broth

1 lb ground veal

1/2 cup bread crumbs

1 egg, beaten

Salt and pepper

2 cups fresh beans

1 cup mixture of leeks, celery and carrot, julienned

2 tbsp pesto

Saute the onion, garlic, carrot and celery in the butter for about 5 minutes.   Add the chili powder, oregano, cumin and coriander and cook for an additional 1-2 minutes.   Add the chicken broth and simmer for 15 minutes.   In the meantime, make small meat balls with the veal, crumbs, egg, salt and pepper.   Drop the meatballs into the broth and simmer for 10 minutes.  Remove the meatballs and set aside.   Add the beans and simmer for 30 minutes.   Add the julienned vegetables and reserved meatballs and simmer for an additional 10 minutes.   Add the pesto and serve.



About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in American, Cooking, Food and Wine, French, Main dishes, Recipes, Soup and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Meatball and Bean Soup

  1. Jill Thaxton says:

    I LOVE that fantastic close up of the red beans. Beautiful!

  2. Oh wow, sens. Of those I’ve seen I think this is my favourite of your recipes – it looks simply divine.

  3. That looks delicious, meatballs are one of my favourites, loving the beans, and the new lens works a treat, great photos.
    Cheers
    Marcus

  4. Kay says:

    Rosemary, this soup looks delicious! I love those beans! I wish I could find them around here. Your photos are beautiful, especially of the beans. Your classes really paid off :-)

  5. Looks awesome. I made soup last night because it had cooled off, wouldn’t you know it was about 90 that day. We ate it with a fan on us in the living room.

  6. ambrosiana says:

    I always say that anything with ground meat is comfort food and your meatballs are not an exception!!! Those bean shots are JAW DROPPING!!!!!!

  7. ceciliag says:

    Oh the colour in those beans.. so pretty.. and nicely shot! c

  8. ....RaeDi says:

    Beautiful, we had something very similar the other evening! Your pictures are so good! ….RaeDi

  9. Erica Julson says:

    Mmmm this looks delicious. I had to leave a comment to let you know how GORGEOUS that bowl is.

Leave a Reply

