Marinated Cod with Brussel Sprouts

I am shamelessly proud of the fact that both my children like vegetables.   I like it that Jade hovers around the vegetable section going, “Whoa, look at those brussel sprouts.   We haven’t had those in a long time.”    True, she does the same thing with Haagen Daz and chocolate cookies but still, vegetables are included on her craving list.   Probably because they are good!

The brussel sprouts make a nice lunch with a fresh baquette, good butter and a glass of wine.  Recipe here  http://cookinginsens.wordpress.com/2011/02/11/mushrooms-brussel-sprouts-and-photography/

I added some marinated, pan fried cod from the 2 for 1 bin.   I can never resist that bin; Frugal http://frugalfeeding.wordpress.com/understands.

Basil Marinated Cod

1 lb of fresh cod, cut into 4 pieces

3 tbsp olive oil

1 garlic clove, minced

2 tbsp fresh basil, chopped

1/4 tsp red pepper flakes

Salt and pepper

Mix the oil, garlic, basil, red pepper, salt and pepper in a small bowl.    Place the cod in a zip lock, add marinade, squish around and refrigerate for at least 30 minutes.   Cook the cod in a hot skillet for about 3 minutes per side.

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Cooking, fish, Food and Wine, French, Main dishes, Recipes, Vegetables and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Marinated Cod with Brussel Sprouts

  1. It’s great that your kids like vegetables! Love the simple cod with brussel sprouts :)

  2. ceciliag says:

    i am the only one who loves brussel sprouts now, and i agree that GOOD butter is a very important component.. that should never be underestimated! yum.. c

  3. This looks so good! I am a big vegetable fan and have only recently come to like sprouts – done like this they are wonderful and I bet tasted fabulous with the cod. Good for you for having children that like veggies – we always did and I just can´t understand why so many of them now don´t…but then I´m not a parent!

    • 1) Children eat what their parents eat. They want to see you taste it first. The complaints from non-vegetable eating parents about their non-vegetable eating kids don’t
      make sense.

      2) Poorly cooked vegetables (in my mother’s case, overcooked) can determine likes and dislikes. Actually, poorly cooked anything that also looks ugly.

  4. spicegirlfla says:

    Congrats on the award! This dish sounds awesome but I love even more your idea of those brussel sprouts with fresh bread and wine!! I could make a lunch or dinner out of nothing more than that!! Because it was just myself and my two kids I only made one dinner and they ate what I ate! There was no discussion as I was not going to be eating mac and cheese every night!!

  5. What an amazing meal! I’m craving those sprout now too.

  6. anelek says:

    looks delicious! thanks for sharing!
    greetings,

    http://yumyumeten.wordpress.com/

  7. Carrie says:

    This meal looks so wonderful. A great, light fall meal! I haven’t made brussels sprouts in a long time either….need to change that :)

  8. I do, I do. This looks really delish, sens. Aside from the fact I hate sprouts :D

  9. ambrosiana says:

    If your children love to eat vegetables, is because they have a mom that really knows how to cook them!!! I am serious!!! I don’t usually get cod in Italy,but I am definitiley trying this delicious recipe with brussels sprout next time I cook white fish!!

  10. ....RaeDi says:

    My children loved their veggies, the other Mother’s wanted to know how I got them to eat! I did not give my children snacks all day, no sugary things…saved for a special occasion and they loved raw veggies and fruit for a snack anytime. I think it makes a big difference! Brussel Sprouts are one of my favorites and the cod looks delicious! ….RaeDi

  11. We must be honest, we’ve never been a big fan of brussel sprouts, but we’re willing to revisit them after looking at your delicious photos. Do you think using frozen fish fillets would change the flavors at all? The dish looks absolutely delicous! Hopefully we can replicate it!

Leave a Reply

