Spicy Moroccan Lamb Burger

Back to Jamie.   Today’s recipe is inspired by this month’s edition of Jamie magazine.   While making the burgers, I started to feel slightly uneasy and disloyal because I wasn’t exactly following the recipe.  Again.   Willfully fiddling with the yogurt sauce and spice mixture.

And then it occurred to me that a chef of Jamie’s caliber and abilities, doesn’t really expect anyone to take a scientific approach to his recipes.   After all, applied food science is only taken seriously in school cafeterias, home economics classes, factories, chain restaurants and probably prisons.   Innovative cuisine is not a science at all but an art form and like most art forms, an exception being classical music,  is not exact.   It’s like jazz, I followed his theme but didn’t play the tune note for note.   For the more classical minded, September, issue 22, page 36.

Speaking of Moroccans, my stove care expert’s mother sent over some fantastic lentils with a vegetable side.   I have to ask her for the recipes.   I will never be satisfied with my lentil dishes again!  Next to hers, they smack of food science :(

I can’t believe that Roger’s not the tiniest bit curious about what I’m having for dinner.   Unbelievable!   SMH.

Spicy Moroccan Lamb Burger

1 lb ground lamb, formed into 4 patties

1 tsp salt

1 tsp pepper

1 tsp ground cumin

1 tsp ground coriander

1 tsp garam masala

1 tbsp paprika

1/2 tsp ground ginger

1/2 cup Greek yogurt

1 tsp sambal oelek

4 hamburger buns

Lettuce

Mint leaves

Mix salt, pepper, cumin, coriander, masala, paprika, ginger together.   Season the lamb patties with the mixture.   Blend the yogurt with the sambal oelek and set aside.

Grill or pan fry the lamb patties and toast the buns.  Spread the buns with the yogurt, add the lamb, more yogurt on top, lettuce and mint leaves.

Serve with aubergine salad http://cookinginsens.wordpress.com/2011/09/27/grilled-aubergine-a-la-velours-de-balsamique/ and Moroccan lentils.

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in African, African, Cooking, Food and Wine, Main dishes, Recipes, Sandwich and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Spicy Moroccan Lamb Burger

  1. Sweet, I have some ground lamb. You’re right cooking is like jazz.

  2. The flavors in this burger sound incredible! And I love all things lamb. Yum!

  3. ambrosiana says:

    This sound delicious!! I have nbeen seeimg so many recipes opf lamb burgers. Now I am curious. Next time I am going to my butcher to have some lamb ground meat. Love the yogurt sauce!!

  4. Pingback: This Is Not a Bhaji Omelette | Cooking in Sens

  5. ....RaeDi says:

    We love lamb burgers, and this recipe is something we have not had, will in the future! I would love to have the recipe for the lentils….RaeDi

  6. Cayla says:

    all of the ingredients in this recipe look like they will taste like heaven! I can’t wait to cook these!

  7. shannan says:

    I’m wondering if you have the recipe for the lentils? :)

  8. anya says:

    What name did you publish the lentil recipe under??

Leave a Reply

