Chicken with Sauce Piperade

A while ago, I made a piperade tart from the Basque region of France http://cookinginsens.wordpress.com/2011/07/14/bastille-day-piperade-tart/. Today, I made a piperade sauce for baked chicken, using the same vegetables that I used for the piperade, but cooking them longer and adding a bit more liquid; think saucy ratatouille.

Chicken with Sauce Piperade  

6 chicken thighs

3 tbsp olive oil

1 red bell pepper, cut into coarse cubes

1 green bell pepper, cut into coarse cubes

2 onions, cut into coarse cubes

4 cloves of garlic, thinly sliced

2 round zucchini, cut into coarse cubes

3 tomatoes, chopped

1/2 cup water

1 cup tomato puree

Salt and pepper

Season the chicken thighs with salt and pepper, then brown in the olive oil.   Remove the thighs from the pan and set aside.   Cook the peppers, onions, and garlic in the same pan until the onions are soft.   Add the tomatoes and zucchini, cooking for about 5 minutes.   Add the water, puree, salt, pepper, bring to a boil, then simmer for 30 minutes.

Place the browned chicken thighs in a baking pan and cover with the piperade sauce.   Bake for 30 minutes in a 375 degree oven.   Serve with risotto and green beans.

Wine suggestion:   Cote du Rhone

 

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Cooking, Food and Wine, French, Main dishes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Chicken with Sauce Piperade

  1. Looks wonderful and boy do I miss gas burners.

    • I know. I really hated it when my mother went all modern and changed to an electric stove. But since my mom’s house, I have always cooked on gas, with the exceptions of a few very silly missions overseas who insisted on supplying the houses with electric ovens when there was no reliable electricity supply. I won’t name them, but you know who you are.

  2. ceciliag says:

    It does look wonderful but your words reminded me that i must make ratatouille tonight so i must get picking! c PS your stove top looks very clean!

  3. Fay says:

    Rosemary, your photography is just beautiful. I got a new camera last week and am learning how to use it. Will be observing the lighting, composition of photos here, while copying recipes. Your level of aesthetic presentation is something for an inexperienced photographer to aspire to.

  4. ambrosiana says:

    Chicken and peppers are one of my favorite combinations!! I am glad you posted this!!

  5. ....RaeDi says:

    This I will be making, it looks so delicious. I love your pictures and the dinnerware that you use….RaeDi

  6. Pingback: Chiquetaille Breakfast | Cooking in Sens

  7. chefina says:

    I love Cote du Rhone, I love chicken! … this is an excellent post! pics are really palpatable!

Leave a Reply

