White Chocolate Panna Cotta with Berries

I’ve never had panna cotta before.   I’ve always seen it on restaurant menus but because I almost never order dessert, I just haven’t tasted it.   I tried to get one of the dessert fiends in the family to order it and give me a bite but they didn’t think much of it and wanted something else.   Fair enough.  Nobody gets any of the one I made!   Just kidding.

I was a little nervous about making this because of the gelatin.   The recipe called for 2 teaspoons of powdered gelatin and what I had was gelatin sheets.   After searching the internet for equivalents, I guessed 2 sheets.  Good!

I bought this beautiful berry mix at the Picard frozen food store.   Very nice.  I just added sugar and a little hot water and stirred.  Not quite a compote but better because the berries kept their shape and color.  Dee-licious!

White Chocolate Panna Cotta with Berries :  http://www.taste.com.au

275 g white chocolate, chopped

600 mls cream

1/3 cup caster sugar

1 tsp vanilla extract

2 tbsp boiling water

2 tsp gelatin

250 g plain Greek yogurt

450 g frozen mixed berries

1/3 cup caster sugar

1/4 cup boiling water

Combine chocolate, cream, sugar and vanilla in a sauce pan over low heat.    Cook and stir until chocolate is melted and the mixture is smooth and heated through.   Set aside for 5 minutes.  Dissolve the gelatin in 2 tbsp boiling water, set aside and allow to cool slightly. Add gelatin to cream mixture, stir and set aside for 15 minutes.   Whisk in the yogurt. Pour into lightly oiled custard glasses and refrigerate for 4 hours.   Mix the berries with the sugar and boiling water, stir and refrigerate.   Un-mold the panna cotta and serve with the berries.

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Cooking, Dessert, Food and Wine, Italian, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to White Chocolate Panna Cotta with Berries

  1. That really is delicious – lovely pics.

  2. Looks wonderful, I might try this recipe as my wife is not too sure on pannacotta but loves chocolate.
    Lovely photos, thanks for sharing.
    Cheers
    Marcus

  3. I think I’ve had it once, I’m fairly sure I enjoyed it… but I’m not sure about that either. I’m just brimming with uncertainty… apart from about the fact that this looks stunning.

  4. ceciliag says:

    Oh that looks absolutely dreamy! Like you I am not a dessert fan, I prefer to finish on a savoury note. But this oh it looks wonderful. The berries are perfect. c

  5. Can’t believe it’s your first attempt. Actually, I can. This looks wonderful.

  6. Seriously impressive! My Italian auntie always told me that a pannacotta should “dance, not wobble” and yours looks like it is most definitely dancing!

  7. Beautiful dish! And the recipe looks scrumptious.

  8. Karen says:

    I love panna cotta. It is a wonderfully light dessert to have after a big meal. It is perfect if you want a little something sweet but not heavy.

  9. ambrosiana says:

    I think that this is the perfcet pairing for panna cotta …I adore fresh berries….stunning pics!

  10. Pingback: Good Ole Girl Lunch | Cooking in Sens

  11. Ben Taylor says:

    how many people does this serve??
    i want to make a LARGE batch.. probably for about 80 people

  12. AvocadoPesto says:

    I LOVE panna cotta and yours looks so good! Great photos! I’ve never made it with white chocolate and greek yogurt before – will have to give it a shot!

  13. Pingback: White chocolate pannacota - Culinary Pins

Leave a Reply

