Salmon Quiche

Nostalgic today, I was thinking about when Quiche Lorraine used to be the height of lunch elegance.   Maybe it still is.   Quiche Lorraine, a small salad and a chilled glass of Chablis.   Perfect.

However, today I felt like having fish, so I took out some salmon and made a very easy salmon quiche with shallots, creme fraiche and emmenthal cheese.

Salmon Quiche

1 pre-rolled pastry crust, puff or brisee

2 tbsp butter

4 shallots, sliced thin

1 lb fresh salmon, cut into small cubes

1 cup of emmenthal, grated

1 1/2 cup creme fraiche

4 eggs

1/2 tsp salt

1/4 tsp pepper

1 pinch of piment d’espelette or cayenne

Put the pastry into a pie pan and poke the bottom with the tines of a fork.   Bake for 12 minutes in a preheated 375 degree oven.   Remove and allow to cool.   Saute the shallots in the butter until soft, add the salmon and cook until just done then put the mixture into the bottom of the pastry shell and cover with the grated cheese.

Beat the eggs, creme fraiche, salt, pepper and piment together until well blended.   Pour over the salmon mixture.   Bake at 375 degrees for 45 minutes.

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Cheese, Cooking, Food and Wine, French, Main dishes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Salmon Quiche

  1. This looks delicious, as ever. I LOVE your quiche dish, the colour is great. I’m going out today to buy half of my graduation present – lots and lots of baking utensils and dishes etc… I can’t wait. If only it would stop raining – I currently am not in possession of a coat, which is silly since I live on the west coast of Wales.

    • Thanks frugal. Do you have a Salvation Army like store there that sells used goods? Where do you do that kind of shopping in Wales? I’ve never been to Wales or Scotland. Sounds like a future trip.

  2. I have not eaten/ made quiches for the longest time, I love savoury quiches and yours look very inviting :)

  3. What a perfect lunch. Those tomatoes on top look great too.

  4. scholasticfood says:

    This looks divine! I’m trying to plan a dinner party with my three roommates and this has just moved to the top of my list!

  5. ambrosiana says:

    Your post made me hungry! I totally love salmon on a quiche!! Great idea!

  6. I just love quiche of any kind so this looks simply fabbulllouusss! Lovely recipe and your quiche looks like its turned out perfectly :)

Leave a Reply

