Lamb Tajine with Potatoes and Chickpeas

I was browsing through Tastespotting the other day and I saw an absolutely, gorgeous, brick red tajine with chicken.  I immediately went into the garage and began a feverish search for my Moroccan tajine.   No joy.   Since everyone knows that you can neither be too thin nor have too many tajines, I bought another one just so I could share this wonderful tajine of lamb, potatoes and chickpeas with all of you.   No thanks needed :)

Lamb Tagine with Chickpeas and Potatoes

3 tsp freshly ground cumin

3 tsp freshly ground coriander

3/4 tsp black pepper

2 tsp paprika

1 tsp grated ginger

2 tsp salt

2tbsp olive oil

2 lb boneless lamb leg, cut into cubes

1 onion, cut in half and thinly sliced

4 garlic cloves, finely chopped

1/4 cup water

4 small potatoes, cut into eighths

1/4 cup cilantro, chopped

2 cups canned chickpeas, rinsed and drained

1/4 cup lemon juice

Mix all the spices together and set aside.  In 1 tbsp of olive oil, brown the lamb cubes in the bottom of a tajine.   Remove and set aside.   Add the onions and the remaining olive oil to the tajine and cook until soft.   Add the garlic and spices and cook for 2 minutes. Add the water, potatoes, lamb and cilantro, stir well, bring to a boil then simmer with the top on for 45 minutes.   Add the chickpeas, lemon juice and continue to simmer for an additional 45 minutes.   Serve with couscous.

Wine suggestion:   Ethiopia Gouder

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in African, African, Cooking, Food and Wine, Main dishes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to Lamb Tajine with Potatoes and Chickpeas

  1. I was just waiting for your next post :D This look incredible. Love the tagine too. I really need to get myself one… ok I will. I shall get myself a tagine. This would probably be one of my favourite dishes ever – it looks simply divine and it has lamb… IT HAS LAMB. Also, thanks for the e-mail I checked the money challenge out, it such a good initiative. I guess I largely do it already, but I’m afraid I don’t have time at the moment to think about it properly – I start and end work at really awkward times.

  2. I love this recipe and your suggested wine pairing, not that I see many Ethiopian wines here.

  3. ceciliag says:

    My culinary life is over.. I do not have a Tajine. (sad face) Onto the shopping list with it!! (happy face) c

  4. Nancy Gill says:

    Where are the lemons in the list of ingredients/preparation instructions? The dish, as pictured, is loaded with them. Are those preserved lemons?

    • Hi Nancy. Other than the lemon juice, there are no lemons in my recipe. This is a pictorial serving suggestion for both presentation and, if you look at the bowl below, you can also serve a slice of lemon with each individual serving, if you choose.

  5. sneige says:

    Wonderful dish! Love the styling too!

  6. Carolyn Jung says:

    A gorgeous dish for autumn. Can’t wait till my Meyer lemons ripen so I can cook up this lovely dish.

  7. Karen says:

    Tajines are loaded with spices that I really love. Perfect for the cooler weather.

  8. Looks fabulous – we ate nearly the same thing last night, but as you might guess, without the lamb!.Neither of our next door moutons were willing to be part of the tagine – spoilsports.

  9. I have a Tanjine that I bought some time ago, and sadly, I only used it once or twice, but I love the function, steaming, cooking without using too much oil, but if I had to choose a meat that was my favorite, it would be lamb.

  10. I love this winter/autumn warmer recipe. I’ll have to invest in a tagine this week, no better excuse!

  11. Pingback: Tajine Roasted Veal | Cooking in Sens

  12. Pingback: Lovely: Bridal Fashion Inspiration – Bridal Stylist- A Morrocan Wedding

  13. Pingback: Cooking updates « Liz White

  14. Pingback: Marching on « Liz White

  15. nanci vieira says:

    Please I would love to buy a Tajine….but here I can’t find….can you please recommend any place that I could find? Thanks !

  16. Clorinda Alizadeh says:

    i love both chickpeas and greenpeas, although chickpeas has that distinctive nutty taste that i like…

    Look over our personal webpage as well
    <a href=" http://www.foodsupplemendigest.com/rosemary-oil-extract/

  17. Pingback: 15 Lamb Recipes

  18. Pingback: Shining Shimmering Splendid - Blog by Bluexusion - IGN

Leave a Reply

