Lamb and Spinach Parmentier

Thinking of making a lamb burger and knowing how difficult it is to find ground lamb, I pre-ordered a couple of kilos of ground lamb in 500 gram packages from M. Parret’s butcher friend in Gron.   Gron is a tiny, quaint village, population 465, about 15 minutes outside of Sens.  I like it because they have a few ancient, well maintained, farm longeres at the town entrance.   I want one.

Anyway,  I put this casserole together with spinach, pine nuts and mashed potatoes. Basically a cottage pie but “parmentier” is so much more elegant and, I admit, a tiny bit pretentious.  I always take pictures before I bake or cook something, in case things go horribly wrong and I have nothing for the blog, which has happened.  Luckily, this turned fine and with a green salad, makes a very satisfying lunch.

Lamb and Spinach Parmentier

4 potatoes

4 tbsp butter

1 cup grated parmesan

4 cups spinach, coarsely chopped

2 garlic cloves, chopped

1 tbsp olive oil

2 tbsp pine nuts

1 onion, chopped

1 lb ground lamb

1/2 tsp cinnamon

1/2 tsp all spice

Salt and pepper

Boil the potatoes until cooked.   Add 2 tbsp of the butter and 1/4 cup of the parmesan, then coarsely mash.   Set aside.

Cook the garlic in the olive oil until soft, add the spinach and cook until wilted.  Set aside.

In the remaining 2 tbsp of butter, toast the pine nuts until brown, remove and set aside. Add the onions to the pan and saute until soft.  Add the lamb, cinnamon and all spice, then cook until all the pink is gone.  Salt and pepper to taste.

Layer 5 individual casseroles with the lamb, the spinach, parmesan and the potatoes.   Bake at 400 degrees for 25-30 minute.

Wine suggestion:   Macon Village


About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in American, Cooking, Food and Wine, French, Main dishes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Lamb and Spinach Parmentier

  1. Nicely done. I like the idea of the Parmentier after a childhood filled with cottage pie – give me pretentious.

  2. ceciliag says:

    Wow, that sure beats my grandmothers mutton stew! I look forward to getting my lambs in the freezer more and more each day! c

  3. Stefanie says:

    Looks gorgeous, and sounds like wonderful comfort food!

  4. Karen says:

    Now that the weather has toned cooler, your little dish will be most welcomed.

  5. Yes, our Fall feels a little like winter

  6. ambrosiana says:

    This is what I call comfort food!! Hearty hearty hearty!!!!

  7. Jackie (Cooked) says:

    You always have such beautiful pictures of the food – I struggle with that! Any suggestions for me?

    • Hi Jackie. Thank you very much! If you can, plan a trip to France and go to Roger Stowell in Vendee, France. He is an Englishman, but don’t hold that against him. He is a wonderfully amusing man, photographer, teacher and cook. I didn’t know anything about photography or cameras before I went to him and his wonderful wife, Jenny. Check out his website at http://www.camerahols.com. You will have so much fun and learn everything that you want to know. He’ll see to it! Thanks for visiting my site!

  8. Jackie (Cooked) says:

    I am hoping to make it to France soon and I’ll keep this on my list of things to do. Roger’s blog is wonderful – the pictures are so beautiful! Thank you for the help!

Leave a Reply

