Crab Cakes with Salsa and Oysters with Roquefort Butter

I just cannot resist those Taboureich or rose oysters.   Inspired by Greg’s post on crab cakes, I ordered some crab meat from the fish market.   When I went to pick it up this morning, the siren song of the Taboureich oysters lured me to the oyster section and before I knew it, I had bought a dozen.

Talk about decadence, this oyster is the Champagne of oysterdom!   Plump, rich and briny, one bite transports you to a palm-lined seashore.   It’s ridiculous but I’ve fallen in love with an oyster.  Not that they needed anything, but I added a nugget of roquefort butter http://cookinginsens.wordpress.com/2011/09/08/noslon-farm-pork-chops-with-roquefort-butter-and-pears/to them before a brief broiling in the oven.   Yesterday was our 35th anniversary and when my baby comes home, I will make these with quail   http://cookinginsens.wordpress.com/2011/08/29/glazed-quail-and-potato-turnip-puree/ and Roger’s Pears.  Champagne with everything!

Anyway, crab cakes.  I was going to make Greg’s mother’s crab cakes http://rufusguide.wordpress.com/2011/09/09/maryland-crab-cakes/ but I remembered seeing crab cakes in my new Jamie Oliver cookbook and couldn’t resist.

The mache in the picture is from M. Parret’s garden and the mango salsa is a creation of Jade/Rosemary.

Crab Cakes and Mango Salsa

1 mango, diced

1 red chilli, seeded and finely chopped

1/4 red bell pepper, finely chopped

1/2 red onion, finely chopped

2 garlic cloves, finely chopped

2 tbsp cilantro, finely chopped

Rice vinegar

Pinch of salt

1lb crab meat

2 slices of chilli, seeds removed, finely chopped

2 tbsp parsley, finely chopped

Zest of 1/2 lemon, grated

Salt and pepper to taste

3 eggs, separated

Flour

Bread crumbs

Peanut oil

Make the salsa by mixing the mango, chilli, bell pepper, onion, garlic, cilantro, a generous splash of rice vinegar and the salt.  Refrigerate.

Mix the crab, chilli, parsley, lemon zest, egg yolks, salt and pepper together in a bowl. Refrigerate for 45 minutes to 1 hour.   Remove mixture from refrigerator and form into 8 patties. Dip first into flour, then into the beaten egg whites and finally into the bread crumbs.   Fry in the peanut oil until golden.  Serve with the salsa and aioli mayonnaise.

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in American, Appetizer, Cooking, English, Food and Wine, French, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Crab Cakes with Salsa and Oysters with Roquefort Butter

  1. Trumped by Jamie Oliver once again. Ha, kidding. Happy 35th! This is a beautiful meal, as always. Love the mango salsa. Such great photos.I like a good crust on a crab cake. I do that when I make them. (Which is rarely!) It just adds something you know. My mom’s are wonderful, of course. We just make them slightly different. Same with out marinara. Her’s always has more garlic.

  2. Looks incredible! I’ve never tried oysters, I suppose I should really… bit too dear for my shallow wallet though :P

  3. Wow, beautiful photography. This looks divine.

  4. ambrosiana says:

    Crab cakes with mango salsa must be one of the most fascinating pairings that I really need to try! Lovely pictures…as usual!!!

  5. ceciliag says:

    Divine. I have had mango chutney before but not a salsa.. this looks just wonderful.. c

  6. Karen says:

    A crab cake cook off and we the readers are the winners. Congratulations on your anniversary and hope you celebrate many more.

  7. Best pictures yet – blinding. Call me old fashioned, but I’ve yet to discover why anyone would do anything with an oyster,apart from eat it raw, but the images are great.

  8. ....RaeDi says:

    The pictures are beautiful, the crab cakes… love, love, love and the oysters… one of my favorites what a wonderful night! I forgot that wonderful compound butter you made and then using it on the oysters, cleaver! ….RaeDi

  9. tessa says:

    I love mango salsa! Looks like it perfectly compliments crab cakes. Beautiful dishes and photos as usual! And, BTW happy anniversary!

    • Thank you Tessa. I’m starting to build up a stock of crockery for photography. I’m finding great deals at the used items stores(depot ventes).

      • tessa says:

        Oh, you too? I have a big plastic tub of single items that I have found at dollar stores, garage sales and clearance racks. It’s really an eclectic little collection. It’s comforting to know that I am not the only one who engages in this behavior…

Leave a Reply

