Boudin Noir, Potimarron and Pommes Mini Casseroles

I’ve noticed a new thing in the market this past week, potimarron squash.   I love squash as long as it’s plainly cooked; none of that 1950s marshmallows, brown sugar and nuts for me!  No ma’am!

This squash is bright orange, pear shaped and derives it’s name from the word for squash (potiron) and chestnuts(marron), the latter because potimarron is said to have a chestnut like flavor. You have to wonder what I was focusing on for that shot, and that’s the best one.   Lord help us.  Shaking my head.

Anyway, the artisanal boudin noir maker was not in the market today, so I had to buy some of the regular boudin from another stall.   It’s okay, but you can really see and, I believe, taste the difference.  Below, to the left, edible, mass produced, regular boudin. Did they add artificial coloring? To the right, a perfect example of traditional, artisanal French blood sausage at its best. It’s a shame I didn’t have enough for this recipe but it was okay.

Now I can hear some of you going, “bleah” and saying, “I generally like Rosemary’s posts, but sometimes, she goes too far”.  I realize I lost points with a few of my readers when I posted the escargots recipe http://cookinginsens.wordpress.com/2011/08/25/escargots-de-bourgogne/ :) But “step away from that mouse” and read on, a substitute is possible.   Isn’t potimarron a beautiful squash?

Even if you don’t want to make it yourself, do take the opportunity to try boudin noir in a good quality restaurant, maybe a parmentier in a casserole of potatoes and apples.   Superb!  http://cookinginsens.wordpress.com/2011/02/28/parmentier-de-boudin-noir-aux-deux-pommes/   If not, you could try replacing the boudin with sweet Italian sausage, not the same, but probably good.

This recipe is sort of a parmentier, substituting squash for the potatoes.   When I saw this recipe on “The Ninth Planet” site  http://patoujourzen.blog.free.fr/index.php?post/2010/11/19/mini-cocotte-boudin, I thought, ahh, fall is coming.

So rich and delicious, with layers of squash and carrots, boudin noir and apple compote, this is true French cuisine!  A “delice” or delight as M. Parret would say.  Yes, I made two casseroles for the Parrets.  After all, they gave me the apples :)

Boudin Noir, Potimarron and Pommes Mini Casseroles

1lb boudin noir or sweet italian sausage, cooked and removed from skin  

1 potimarron squash, cubed

1/2 lb carrots, sliced

1/2 tsp cumin

Salt and pepper

6 apples, peeled, cored and diced

1 cinnamon stick

2 tbsp sugar

2 tbsp butter

6 tbsp water

Boil the squash, carrots and cumin for about 20 minutes.   Puree in a food processor, add salt and pepper, then set aside.

Put the apples, cinnamon stick, sugar, butter and the water in a pot, bring to a boil and simmer covered for about 15 minutes, stirring occasionally.   Set aside.

Layer six mini casseroles with the squash, then the boudin or Italian sausage and finally the apple compote. Bake in a 375 degree oven for 20-30 minutes.

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Cooking, Food and Wine, French, Main dishes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Boudin Noir, Potimarron and Pommes Mini Casseroles

  1. That is so delicious, and even this “bleah” merchant loves good black pudding. Strangely enough the English and French vie to make the best black pudding, as in the North of England is traditional breakfast fare – often served with very un English fried bananas. Now where was that focus point?

    • Thanks Roger. I’ve had black pudding in both Ireland and England but it was at those B&Bs, so I probably didn’t have the best. I’ll have to try again when I visit London because the boudin noir here is very, very good!

  2. A meat garnish! That’s just too cool. I love black pudding and was thinking of making it, but the recipe I have calls for so much blood. I thought where would I get that. Katherine said go to the butcher. I said do you think they’d really carry blood. She replied they always did on Buffy. (As in the Vampire Slayer.) Still haven’t tested her theory. Anyway, great recipe. I love how often you use ramekins.

    • You are a lot more adventurous than I am! I seriously would not want to deal with the blood. I like my boudin noir already processed. But Katherine is right about the butcher. You would probably have to order in advance. Bleah :)

  3. What scrumptious recipe! Now I just got to keep an eye out for this squash. Do you think I could use another variety if I can’t find potimarron?

  4. Karen says:

    Bodin noir is one of my husbands favorites, be it in France or the blood sausage (blutwurst) in Germany.

    • I haven’t tried it in Germany yet Karen but it’s wonderful here. The artisanal sausage maker in the market also adds, piment espelette for a Creole sausage or small pieces of apple. Both of those are as good as the plain.

  5. ambrosiana says:

    Wow!!! That looks fantastic!

  6. baobabs says:

    This looks stunning. Looks like a great and (manageable) recipe! thanks for sharing

  7. jade00 says:

    é bha didon!!!dommage que j’etais à l’ecole quand tu l’a fait : ( . Mais bon :/ c’est pas grave :)
    en passant j’adore ta photo de de la tartine de pomme ,boudin noir et frommage.

  8. I really like your blog recipes. There is a new platform where you can upload them and are seen with a design adapted to iPad. You can also link to your blog, get statistics … It is called cibos.me

Leave a Reply

