Paris: A Tale of Two Lunches

Today we went to Paris to take care of U.S. Embassy affairs; tedious, but we did it first thing to get it out of the way.   After that, two girls on the town, we did a little shopping for chocolate for Mme. Parret who is not feeling well and for ourselves to make us feel even better than we felt, being in Paris and all :)

Near the Embassy, in a very “tout a fait” shop, I found this really cool flatware made of some sort of metal, very chic. Thinking about my photography, I bought one knife, one soup spoon and one fork which seemed to offend the clerk and made us suppress laughter.

In search of a macro lens for my camera, we hopped in a taxi and went to the 3eme arrondissement.   By the time we crawled through the traffic, it was about 12:30 and time to start thinking about lunch.  A small restaurant called “The Little Chair” caught my eye.   I don’t know what I was thinking of.  On the go meals, in unfamiliar neighborhoods are best taken in bistros or brasseries.   You are sure to find something  “correct”.   My bad.

The menu consisted of about 8 types of couscous or the choices of steak, omelette or lamb chops with fries.   Un-nerved, we decided to go with the omelette and the lamb chops which turned out to be uncooked eggs, blackened mutton and greasy fries.   We drank our drinks, paid and fled.  Silly rabbits.  Shaking my head :)

Having come to our senses, we continued a few steps down the street and found Chez Oscar with indoor/outdoor seating and a very friendly waitress.

They are open from 12 noon to midnight.

This bistro, frequented by regulars seated at their usual tables, was quaint, interesting and comfortable.

The food was correct, not a gastronome’s delight, but correct.   Exactly what we were looking for.

A beautifully fresh, vegetable salad.

 A perfectly cooked cheeseburger with normal French fries.

A very good Cafe Gourmand with chocolate mousse, creme brulee and apple crumble.

A raspberry and citrus mousse that the waitress insisted I photograph before she served it to the guy who ordered it :)

“All’s well that ends well.”   Another wonderful Paris trip!

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Cooking, Dessert, Food and Wine, French, Main dishes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Paris: A Tale of Two Lunches

  1. That’s hilarious. That poor guy with his fork ready thinking I ordered that! Katherine’s been eyeing individual plates or things in pairs, so the silverware story made me laugh. We have enough dishes if you ask me, but it is nice to not have the same plate on the blog all the time. Great post!

    • Like you, Greg, we have way too many dishes but I’ve discovered “plating” in a terrible way and I have been searching for the unique plate and flatware. Bad Rosemary!

  2. The girl done good – you’re becoming a shooter – yippee kay yay!

  3. Just assume that whenever I comment on your blog there is a massive P.S at the end that says – I love your photography… otherwise you’ll get sick of hearing it. Also, that cutlery is the best I’ve ever seen… you live a damn good life. This food looks amazing. I’m incredibly jealous…

  4. Laura says:

    You need to go back and get the recipe for the raspberry citron mousse – your photo of it makes my mouth water …

  5. I’ll take one of those raspberry and citrus mousses right now please! :-)

  6. This makes me miss my Paris home!

  7. ambrosiana says:

    I love your shots!!! Looks like youhad a nice meal!!! I specially love the chocolate mousse one !!

  8. Karen says:

    A nice day, a nice meal and a very nice waitress. So many cringe when a camera comes out at a restaurant.

  9. Vinnie Hysquierdo says:

    I love to eat Salads, salads are quite tasty and also they are considered to be health foods. Salads are also great when you are on a diet. “”.*:

    Regards
    http://www.healthmedicinelab.com“>

Leave a Reply

