Glazed Quail and Potato-Turnip Puree

During the weekend, while shopping for Jade’s back to school supplies, I bought a Jamie Oliver cookbook called Jamie Oliver’s America.   There were several Jamie Oliver cookbooks there but I loved the cover of this one and the recipes.

I also found some old bowls and plates at the depot-vente, a consignment shop for used items, for 3 euros a piece.    Pretty happy about that!

I promise to stop “doing Jamie” for a while after this post but I can’t help it, this is one talented man!

The glazed quail and turnip-potato puree is so simple to make, yet so delicious and elegant.  The seasoned and olive oil rubbed quail are first seared in a hot skillet.  Brown sugar and Worcestershire sauce are then combined with bacon, piment d’espelette and butter to make a light glaze.

Beautiful!

Sweet and juicy mirabelles for dessert.

Cailles Glacees et Puree de Navets 

1/2 lb turnips, cut into cubes

1/2 lb potatoes, cut into cubes

Salt and pepper

Butter

4 quail

Piment d’espelette or cayenne

Salt and pepper

Olive oil

8 pieces of bacon, cut into batons

2 rounded tbsp brown sugar

8 tbsp Worcestershire sauce

Butter

Parsley

Boil the turnips for 5 minutes than add the potatoes and continue to boil until both are tender.   Drain, then put back into the pot with some butter and coarsely mash.  Salt and pepper to taste.   Set aside and keep warm.

Cut the quail up the back with kitchen shears.   With the heel of your hand, press down on the breast area to flatten the quail.   Season the quail with salt, pepper and piment d’espelette or cayenne.  Rub all over with olive oil.

In a hot cast iron skillet, sear the quail for about 8 minutes, skin side down.   Turn over and cook for an additional 2 minutes.  Remove from pan and set aside.   Add the bacon to the pan and brown.   Add the sugar, worcestershire, 1/4 teaspoon of piment d’espelette and butter, stirring  to make a glaze.   Add water if necessary.   Put the quail back in the pan and coat with the glaze, cooking for about 5 more minutes.  Put on a serving plate with the puree and sprinkle with chopped parsley.

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in American, Cooking, English, Food and Wine, Fruit, Main dishes, Recipes, Vegetables and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Glazed Quail and Potato-Turnip Puree

  1. The shots really get better and better – this lot truly impresses, particularly 1 and 3. I love quail and I really am impressed with the pics.

  2. Wow, that’s just amazing. So, this must be your new Jamie book… you should get his first book “the naked chef”. The photos are simply stunning. I love your blog more and more each day.

    • Thanks Frugal. They had a lot of Jamie books at the store and it was so hard to choose! I refrained from my usual, “I need them all”! But I am going back. My subscription to Jamie magazine should kick in anyday now, so I’ll at least wait until then :)

  3. What a great dish. I also love seeing Jamie in front of an American flag with a French title. Small world, I know.

  4. Jamie is new to me, but I guess not to the world. They had a lot of his books, reprinted in French.

  5. phenomenally delicious! You’re images are truly the best.

  6. Saw your photo on TasteSpotting and had to come and see what you are about. Wow, your photos are spectacular and such wonderful recipes. I’m off to look at more of your posts.

  7. myFudo says:

    Looks delicious. The presentation is mouth watering. Love you site as always, keep coming back for more.

  8. ambrosiana says:

    This is so delicious and beautiful!!! I love the way you cook!! and that glaze!!! wow!

  9. I actually have this cookbook, but there must have been something about your pictures that got my attention! I never noticed it in the cookbook!

    Thank you! I have turnips in my CSA box this week. Dinner tonight!

  10. Pingback: Crab Cakes with Salsa and Oysters with Roquefort Butter | Cooking in Sens

  11. tessa says:

    Beautiful dish! Always a pleasure to visit your website.

  12. Pingback: Recipe Roundup October 2011 « A Gaming Girl's Take on Life

  13. foodepix says:

    I love your pictures and recipes. We would love
    to invite you to register with foodepix.com and upload your pictures.

    Hope to see you there. :)

  14. Pingback: Glazed Chicken with Bacon | Cooking in Sens

  15. Pingback: Glazed Veal Chops with Bacon and Celery Potato Mash | Cooking in Sens

  16. Aida Jimenez says:

    ive cooked this before.. so easy and yet so delicious, perfect combination wt the puree.. hmmmm!!!! love it..

  17. Good day, I am compiling a church calender – food from Bible times. Can we please use your quaile photo with compliments to you as photographer and your blog? The calender is a free distribution only to congregation members. We are based in the Western Cape South Africa – local church NG Durbanville-Bergsig, Durbanville Western Cape (www.bergsigdv.co.za).

  18. I am so excited – thank you so much!!!!! You do not by any chance have a beautiful grilled fish and leg of lamb/mutton photo? You can also mail me and send the photos directly kommunikasie@isales.co.za – I am so relieved – was not easy to get a nice quail picture :-)

  19. Pingback: Top 10 Valentine’s Day films paired with romantic dishes | Film and food

Leave a Reply

