Jamie Oliver’s Stuffed Rack of Lamb

I had the hardest time understanding Jamie’s instructions for cutting the rack for stuffing: “Cut between the bones and through the eye of the lamb, leaving 1cm of meat still attached at the bottom”.   “Put this mixture(the stuffing) between the lamb eye meat and the bones, then fold back up. Tie tightly in about 5 places”.   I was following him in the beginning but I think it was the “fold back up” that made me think I didn’t understand.   Fold what back up?   After re-reading the recipes for the nth time, I finally understood.   He meant that when you cut and insert the stuffing between the bones, the partially detached chops will fan out and you need to pull them back together and tie with string to hold them.  http://www.jamieoliver.com/recipes/lamb-recipes/amazing-lamb-rack

There is another person who didn’t understand this and after I post, I will send them the link.

One thing you’ll want to do is to make the marinade first, rub it over the cut rack, then stuff. I didn’t do this and things got messy.

I had a little left over stuffing and filled a tomato with it.

I love roasting vegetables!   It was only 70 degrees today, so having the oven on was no big deal.   They’re so pretty!

Once I plunked the rack on the vegetables, Jade and I were pretty much ready to eat!

Jamie Oliver’s Stuffed Rack of Lamb

1 8 bone rack of lamb, frenched

3 sprigs of fresh rosemary, chopped

4 garlic cloves, chopped

1/4 cup olive oil, plus 2 tbsp

6 ounces feta cheese, chopped

12 dried tomatoes, chopped

12 black olives, chopped

A small bunch of parsley, chopped

1 zucchini, sliced

1 eggplant, sliced

1 onion, quartered

2 red bell peppers, quartered

Cut the rack of lamb between each bone to one third of an inch from the bottom.  Mix the rosemary and garlic together and put half in the 1/4 cup of olive oil and set aside.  Put the other half  of the garlic and rosemary in the remaining 2 tablespoons of olive oil.  Rub the 2 tablespoons olive oil mixture on the cut rack.

Prepare the stuffing by mixing the cheese, tomatoes, parsley and olives together.   Put the mixture between the meat and bones, then tie the roast with string to hold everything together.  Refrigerate for 1 hour.

In the meantime, mix the vegetables with the reserved 1/4 of olive oil/rosemary/garlic and put into a baking pan.  Preheat the oven to 400 degrees.

Place the rack of lamb on top of the vegetables and roast for 30 minutes.  After 30 minutes, remove the rack from the oven and allow to rest.  Return the vegetables to the oven for about 8 minutes.   Slice the rack and serve with the vegetables.

Wine suggestion:  Bourgogne Aligote


 

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Cooking, English, Food and Wine, Main dishes, Recipes, Vegetables and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Jamie Oliver’s Stuffed Rack of Lamb

  1. I’ve got to say that it looks worth the trouble – that is, if you do not have any snails or frogs to hand for a simpler snack.

  2. That looks pretty amazing. I love your vivid photos.

  3. Andrea says:

    This looks spectacular!

  4. Looks beautiful! I love Jamie Oliver. And I love lamb. And I love the wine suggestion addition!
    Tell me again what camera you’re using. These pictures are just amazing.

  5. Oh, thanks for the info. What a relief to know I don’t have to have a super expensive camera to take good pictures, I just have to know how to take them! :)
    They look like they’re jumping right out of the compter at me. And they make me hungry. And thanks for clearing up how to cut the rack for stuffing. I dont think I would have understood that either. Now I’ve got it!

    • You are so welcome Jennifer. I took photos for my blog with a point and shoot until July. Some of the photos were not bad. But it really is important to know about focus, shutter speed and ISO. Before July, those terms were just annoying :)

  6. I tend to really enjoy Jamie Olivers recipes and it looks like you did a great job with this rack of lamb. I’m sure it tasted phenomenal.

    • Completely out of the loop, I just heard about Jamie Oliver last month. Since then, I have joined his website and ordered his magazine. The taste was fantastic! I want to think of another way to use the sun dried tomato stuffing.

  7. cubicle.com says:

    That looks great…and thanks for the photos. I had a tough time understanding what you wrote until I saw the picture. Sounds yummy!

  8. joshuafagans says:

    Yet another great recipe well photographed. I simply love lamb but have never thought to do this kind of treatment to a rack.

  9. This is just simply the perfect meal!

  10. Pingback: Stuffed Chicken Thighs a la Jamie | Cooking in Sens

  11. Pingback: 5 Must Try Lamb Recipes | taste station blog

  12. Pingback: Recipe Roundup October 2011 « A Gaming Girl's Take on Life

  13. Jen says:

    Awesome Recipe. I really enjoyed it.
    I also really like this one also for mustard crusted rack of lamb.
    http://www.wascene.com/food-drink/rack-of-lamb-with-rosemary-and-mustard-crust-with-garlic-roasted-potatoes/
    Thanks for sharing
    Jen

  14. Gem says:

    Awesome recipe. Absolutely love it :)
    Here’s another recipe you might like.
    http://www.wascene.com/food-drink/rack-of-lamb-with-rosemary-and-mustard-crust-with-garlic-roasted-potatoes/
    Thanks for sharing.
    Gem

Leave a Reply

