Mushroom Omelette

I purposely held back 4 mushrooms from the mushroom tarte so that I could make this omelette for breakfast this morning to share with Jade.   Here is the secret to how I became a famous mushroom omelette maker; I don’t cook the mushrooms a long time.   After sauteing the shallots in butter, I add the mushrooms and briefly toss them in the hot pan until they take on color and begin to soften, then I remove the mushroom mixture to a bowl and set aside.   I then add a little more butter to the pan and pour in 2 beaten eggs, cooking until the eggs are almost set.   I put the cooked mushrooms on one half of the egg omelette, sprinkle on cheese and fold in half, cook for about another minute, sprinkle on snipped chives and remove to a plate.  That’s it, mushroom omelette success!

This omelette serves two very well.  I added srichacha sauce to my mine and poured a cup of coffee.   Jade had a regular breakfast with toast, orange juice and yogurt.

What is the correct spelling for omelette?

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in American, Cooking, Food and Wine, Main dishes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Mushroom Omelette

  1. whatsaysyou says:

    Mushroom omelette is one of my favourite kind of omelette.

  2. Oooooh yum. I watched a program yesterday that had a clip of the late great Keith Floyd being shown how to make the perfect omelet – it was extremely funny… This one looks really good, the photos are great.

  3. tandteacake says:

    Sorry but because I déteste omelettes, the first thing I thought was “I love that tablecloth”!
    Well, that’s a good thing, too, right? RIGHT? However, while the omelette sure looks delicous as well, I bet that when turning it into a nice crêpe or German-style pancake, I could find some love for that dish, either! ;) Your tip with the mushrooms is great!

    Tobias

  4. That looks perfect. I have mangled plenty an omelette.

Leave a Reply

