Cuisses de Grenouilles or Light and Crispy Frogs’ Legs

Sometimes eating unfamiliar food is easier in another language, sometimes not.  We had frogs’ legs when we were growing up because my parents were from the South and to them, as to the French, they were delicacies.  I had to grow up a bit in order to like snails in any language and that was because the first time I had them, maybe I was 19, they were rubbery.  Scientifically speaking, bad cooking can put you off anything.  The reason for many people’s dislike of fish, I’d be willing to bet, is because they’ve never had it cooked correctly.  Anyway, I did an excellent, excellent job on these frogs’ legs.  Excellent :)

Frogs’ legs do not taste like chicken.   If they taste like anything, they taste like the crocodile I had in Nairobi at the Carnivore  http://www.africanmeccasafaris.com/kenya/nairobi/excursions/carnivore.asp, to which you should all go.   So much fun!  They also have zebra, hartebeest and ostrich.  You’ll be happy to know that these game meats are harvested to prevent over population, so not to worry.   I thought the zebra tasted like mule.  So disappointing.   Anyway.

These legs, imported from Indonesia, were small with a very delicate flavor that you don’t find in the larger ones.  I wanted a light coating on these so I simply soaked them in milk and coated them in seasoned flour before frying.  I served them with lime chilli mayonnaise http://cookinginsens.wordpress.com/2011/08/17/sarkozys-oysters-banh-mi/ for dipping.

Light and Crispy Frogs’ Legs  

1 lb of frogs’ legs

1 cup milk

1 cup flour

1 tsp salt

1/2 tsp pepper

1 tbsp paprika

1 tsp garlic powder

Peanut oil

Soak the frogs’ legs in milk for about 30 minutes.   Mix the salt, pepper, paprika and garlic powder with the flour.   Remove the legs from the milk, coat with the seasoned flour and fry in the peanut oil, draining on paper towels.   Serve with lime chilli mayonnaise.

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Appetizer, Cooking, Food and Wine, French, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Cuisses de Grenouilles or Light and Crispy Frogs’ Legs

  1. These look great to me. We’ve only had frog legs once and it was at a really nice place in Little Rock. It was our anniversary and I think it was an amuse bouche, not something we requested. They were delicious. Even here in the South, they’re not on many menus. But you can find them.

  2. tessamia says:

    These look fabulous! I’ve seen frog legs sold here in Southern Oregon but I have never ventured to purchase them. I will be sure to snap some up the next time I see them. Thanks for the inspiration! – Tessa

  3. Never thought I’d say frogs legs looked good, but these look amazing and I’d happily try them. Awesome stuff!

  4. joshuafagans says:

    Wow, have never tried to make these at home. Had an amazing version at The French Laundry at the end of the last year that made me a fan though.

  5. Well done – rugged post of little amphibians’ legs being chomped. Nice pics.

  6. Stefanie says:

    I had from legs when I was really young, and I must admit, they tasted like chicken to me… hehe. But maybe they would taste different with my matured taste buds :) They look incredible!

  7. I’ve not had frogs’ legs in years… but oh, they are good, and your crispy ones look excellent!

  8. Jerry Hingle says:

    The frog legs look much more appetizing once they are breaded and fried. And pairing it with lime chili mayo sounds delicious!

  9. matt says:

    To what temperature did you heat the oil?

Leave a Reply

