Steamed Shrimp and Pork Dumplings

On a visit to Hong Kong, we ended up somehow off the beaten, tourist track hungry and thirsty.   All the restaurant signs and menus were written in Chinese and we didn’t have word one of the language outside of ni hao(good morning).

Peering in the window of one restaurant, we saw ladies pushing carts from table to table. The ladies would show the customers the contents of the bamboo steamers and they would select their choices by pointing.   Our kind of language!  It turned out that this was a restaurant specializing in Dim Sum.  We have never eaten better Chinese food since!   The pushcart ladies were charming and tried to assist us with our selections; I also think they were amused that we had wandered in.

Although I have dumpling wrappers in the freezer, I cheated and got these dumplings from the famous French frozen food store, Picard’s.   They were okay but I’ll make my own next time.  I love steamed dumplings!

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Appetizer, Chinese, Food and Wine, Kitchen tools and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Steamed Shrimp and Pork Dumplings

  1. Karen says:

    We went to a famous dim sum restaurant in San Francisco with another couple. We ended up having a tower of empty plates at the end of the meal. The giggling push cart ladies said they had never seen people enjoy a meal more than than the four of us.

  2. Gorgeous photos. I have to agree on the San Fran front too.

  3. Fantastic photos. :-)

  4. myFudo says:

    great photos. I’ve had Asian food in San Fransisco, wonder how tiring it was to relate to the Chinese, Hope you had fun though.

  5. ambrosiana says:

    Lovely post! It is incredible how you go from Asian cuisine to French cuisine and doing both well!

  6. amazing photos. I found a chinese steamer outside someone’s house – they were giving it away. I really need to find something to use in it. Perhaps this… Delicious.

  7. I love this Chinese goody. I love it served with soy sauce and lime plus the chilli oil to ignite appetite.

  8. kat says:

    That looks delicious! I love dumplings! :)

  9. The punchy colours look great and suit the subject. I’ve done the snail picture!

  10. I got the idea for the colors from the package the dumplings came in; Picard you know, old sport: ) Cool about the picture!

Leave a Reply

