C’est Moi qui la Fait: Claypot Rabbit

This is my second package of rabbit saddle that I got at Carrefour market in the 2 for the price of one bin.  Obviously, I laugh in the face of oven heat, ha ha ha, because I decided I wanted to use my clay pot to make a type of Lapin Forestiere, Woodland Rabbit?   It’s ugly hot here today so I started cooking it early, right after my visit to the market.

This was an improv recipe that I made up as I was market gawking.   Mushrooms, bacon, celery, onion, garlic, thyme, parsley, potatoes; all the good things in life.

Overall this was a very good dish but the mushrooms were the stars!  I chose very large mushrooms and because I just cut them in half, each cooked bite delivered a juicy, earthy goodness that outshone even the melt in your mouth rabbit.

Yes they did!

If you really don’t want to eat rabbit, substitute chicken thighs.

Claypot Rabbit

1 1/2 lbs rabbit saddle

2 tbsp olive oil

6 bacon strips, sliced

1 tbsp of butter

2 onions, halved and sliced

2 celery branches, sliced

4 garlic cloves, coarsely chopped

10 sprigs fresh thyme

2 tbsp fresh parsley, coarsely chopped

10 large mushrooms cut in half

6 small potatoes, quartered

1/2 glass white wine

Brown the rabbit in the olive oil and put into a large bowl.   In another pan, brown the bacon, remove from the pan and put in the bowl with the rabbit.   In the same pan, add the butter and saute the onions, celery and garlic.   Mix in the thyme and parsley, then pour all into the pan with the rabbit.  Add the mushrooms and potatoes, stirring to blend.

Put the rabbit mixture in a pre-soaked clay pot and pour the wine over all.   Cover with the top and bake in a 350 degree oven for 55 minutes.

Wine suggestion:  Cotes de Provence “Truchette” Rose

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Cooking, Food and Wine, French, Main dishes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to C’est Moi qui la Fait: Claypot Rabbit

  1. This looks worth the sweat. It’s gorgeous.

  2. ambrosiana says:

    This is such a hearty dish! I love rabbit and the potato and mushroom combination is just delicious!

  3. Very good dish – I love rabbit but it won’t get pass the “customs” post at La Moussiere – chicken thighs it is.

  4. myFudo says:

    This looks great. Love the photos. Craving for it.

  5. nestra says:

    I just saw rabbits at a local market and have been looking for a good recipe to try them out, this seems like it!

  6. Karen says:

    Two for one on rabbit saddle…how lucky. We love rabbit but it is so hard to find that this recipe will be made with chicken.

  7. You’re killing me with these recipes for rabbit. They sounds/look so good and rabbit is isn’t readily available here in the States. Keep em coming though. :-)

  8. joshuafagans says:

    Wish I could convince my family to eat rabbit! This looks great.

  9. Very nice rabbit. I will surely prepare this recipe for the holiday season.

  10. christellar says:

    OH man rabbit is my favourite! I never thought of cooking it other than whole; thanks for the inspiration!

  11. Pingback: Kaninragout

Leave a Reply

