Sarkozy’s Oysters Banh Mi

I guess I forgot to note in my last post on taboureich or rose oysters that these are supposed to be Sarkozy’s favorite oysters. http://cookinginsens.wordpress.com/2011/08/15/step-away-from-the-fish-market/   When we were back in the fish market today, the owner mentioned this again.  Yeah, yeah.  Just put them in the jar.

After eating these oysters grilled, we just felt we needed more.   Since these were the large size we usually get in the States, I decided to try them fried in a Vietnamese Banh Mi  sandwich.  Fabulous!

But, before we go there, I have to talk about the leftover gamba tail salad I made with tomato avocado salsa.  Because we were so greedy when we went to the fish market on Monday, we had 2 grilled gambas tails left over.  They were so big, that I was able to make salads for today’s lunch.   I made a tomato avocado salsa because I had a lot of tomatoes that were gifted to me by M. Parret.

Boy howdy!

This is a lovely fish market and oyster bar.   Everyone is so friendly and they make an effort at speaking English because I have “American” written all over my accent.

Anyway, I made a lime chilli mayonnaise that was meant for these banh mi sandwiches, especially if you are using oysters.

And prepared the usual suspects for toppings.

Sarkozy’s Oysters Banh Mi

2 carrots, cut into match sticks

1 daikon or 1 white radish or 2 cups radish, cut into match sticks

1/2 cup rice vinegar

1/2 cup sugar

1/2 tsp salt

12 oysters, shucked, rinsed and patted dry

Cornstarch

1 egg, beaten

Panko bread crumbs

Peanut oil

1 baguette,  cut in half and toasted

Lime chilli mayonnaise

Cucumbers, thinly sliced

Red onion, thinly sliced

Jalapeno, sliced

Coriander leaves

Blend the vinegar, sugar and salt until dissolved.   Pour over the carrots and daikon, refrigerate for 2 hours or overnight.

Dredge the oysters in cornstarch, then dip in the egg, then in the bread crumbs.  Fry in the peanut oil until pleasantly brown.

Spread the lime mayonnaise on the baguette, then layer with cucumber, the oysters, the pickled carrots and daikon, the onion, the jalapeno and the coriander leaves.  Eat.

Lime Chilli Mayonnaise

1/4 cup of mayonnaise

1 tsp of Vietnamese garlic chilli sauce

Juice from 1/2 lime

Blend all ingredients and refrigerate.

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in American, Asian, Cooking, fish, Food and Wine, Recipes, Salad, Sandwich, Vietnamese and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Sarkozy’s Oysters Banh Mi

  1. Josh says:

    If you think it’s genuinely better than just swallowing them raw, then I’ll give it a try?

  2. These photos look delicious. I’ve never tried oysters… they just really don’t appeal to me.

    • As in everything, frugal, I think it’s the way things are prepared. Go to New Orleans and have them fry them up for you. After that, I think you’ll break down and make them :)

  3. Just love those flavours – lime chilli mayonnaise is very sexy but then you flaunt Panko at me – I’ve been recommended to get these Panko things that I have only heard in rumour and drunken conversation, but they sound good.

  4. ceciliag says:

    Long to be close enough to the sea to be able to buy that divine sea food that you are stuffing yourself with! But i am in the midwest, the only wave here is waving through the corn. The good news is that soon I am sending my lambs off to be returned in little white packages and then we will be cooking! i will be back! c

  5. ceciliag says:

    No i am FROM New Zealand, I live IN the midwest, US. so no oysters out here for me.. and if you want lamb you grow your own, which we do, so I am going to visit that josh guy and see if what he does is better than what i do! c

  6. What a great post. That sandwich makes me think of a po boy. I love the mayo too and the salsa.

  7. Pingback: Sarkozy's Oysters Banh Mi (via Cooking in Sens) | vanilla na cozinha star

  8. myFudo says:

    The oysters look great. Never tried it and I don’t think I’ll like them raw nonetheless great photos. Can’t wait for your next post.

  9. GastroStu says:

    I’ve never had oysters any other way other than raw because there just so delicious. But when I eventually resist the raw ones and get round to cooking them this is just the kind of thing I’d love to try. Thanks for sharing :)

  10. ambrosiana says:

    Your photos are so tasty and gorgeous looking photos!! That lime chilli mayonnaise is moth watering!

  11. Pingback: Cuisses de Grenouilles or Light and Crispy Frogs’ Legs | Cooking in Sens

  12. foodingdo says:

    Hello ! We absolutely love your recipe and your food pictures, we would be glad if you could submit it to our site. Cheers :)

  13. Pingback: Calamari Rings with Chilli Lime Mayonnaise | Cooking in Sens

Leave a Reply

