Japanese Curry Chicken in Waiting

Any day now I’m supposed to be receiving some fresh udon noodles from the Sushi Boutique in Paris.  Following in Kay’s footsteps, http://myhomecookedmeals.blogspot.com/2011/04/dinner-tonight-japanese-style-kare.html, I decided to make chicken curry to have on hand when the noodles arrive.

I browned some chicken thighs and vegetables, grated in some solid curry bars, added water and cooked for 45 minutes.

Because this was a spur of the moment meal, I hadn’t made Japanese pickles but I did have some radish, scallions and pickled ginger which worked fine as condiments.

Quick Japanese Curry Chicken

2lbs chicken thighs

Olive oil

2 carrots, sliced

1 large onion, quartered

3 garlic cloves, chopped

2 celery stalks, sliced

1 bay leaf

4 cubes of S&B solid curry bar, grated

Water

Cooked rice

Sliced scallions

Shaved radish

Pickled ginger

Quail eggs

Brown the chicken thighs in about 2 tablespoons of olive oil.   Remove and set aside.   Remove all but 2 tablespoons of oil from the pan and cook the carrots, onion, garlic, celery and bay leaf until the onion has wilted.  Grate the curry bar into the vegetables and cook for 1-2 minutes.

In a large stock pot, combine the vegetable/curry mixture with the chicken and add water, just to cover.   Bring to a boil and allow to simmer for 45 minutes.  Serve with rice, scallions, radish, ginger and quail eggs.

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Asian, bento, Cooking, Food and Wine, Japanese, Main dishes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Japanese Curry Chicken in Waiting

  1. ambrosiana says:

    Very tasty recipe!! Thanks for sharing. I am always looking for new ways to cook chicken with white rice. I loved the quail eggs addition!!

    • My daughter was really happy about the white rice Ambrosiana. I think she thinks that I don’t cook enough rice. I actually made the curry to pour over the udon noodles I received today :)

  2. Oh wow, I want two of everything!

  3. joshuafagans says:

    Love the photos. Never heard of “curry bars.” Sound interesting.

  4. kat says:

    YUMMM! I want! I love curry from japanese places!! Thanks for sharing! I’m new to blogging here and I just love how supportive and creative everyone is! If you have time, could you please check out my blog? http://shecooksandheeats.wordpress.com/ If you have any, I would love some advice :)

  5. Love the pics, but I have never heard of a curry bar.Where do they come from, and what are they? They could be a major innovation in my winter cooking.

  6. Karen says:

    I love curry of any kind. I will be on the lookout for the curry bar when we return to New Hampshire in the fall.

  7. Kay Ecker says:

    Rosemary, I am so behind in reading everybody’s blogs as usual ;). Thank you for linking to my blog! Your curry dish looks yummy. I like how you improvised the pickles, served w/quail eggs and I never thought of grating the curry cubes. That’s a great tip to grate! It must incorporate the roux much more quickly!

  8. Love 2 Type says:

    wow. this is a splendid idea. turning something simple into one tempting grand dish.

Leave a Reply

