Salmon with Yellow Pepper Saffron Sauce for Jenny

I have to admit, I felt a little guilty about cooking that little bunny rabbit so soon after leaving Camerahols.  Not so much for you manly men, and women, but because of Jenn. I know when she saw the post, she just sadly shook her head, forgiving me, but abhorring my savagery.  Sorry Jenn, I’ve “stepped away from the rabbit”.   Here’s some fish, flowers and Rose Gris.

This is an excellent sauce for salmon, created by someone called Bobby Flay.  Good Bob. Grilled yellow peppers and saffron give it a rich, appetizing color and the flavor of summer.

A nice hint of honey and dijon mustard; I halved the amount of honey.  Bad Bob.

I served the salmon with grilled eggplant slices and peppery roquette greens.

Salmon with Yellow Pepper Saffron Sauce

4 salmon fillets, grilled or pan-fried in a little olive oil

Grilled eggplant slices

2 yellow peppers, grilled, seeded and coarsely chopped

1/3 cup rice vinegar

6 cloves garlic, coarsely chopped

Pinch of saffron threads

1 tsp honey

1tsp dijon mustard

3/4 cup olive oil

Salt and pepper

In a food processor, blend the peppers, vinegar, garlic, saffron, honey and mustard.  With the motor running, slowly pour in the olive oil in a thin stream until the mixture emulsifies. Season with salt and pepper.   Gently heat before serving.

Place the warm eggplant slices in plates, top with the salmon fillets and pour the sauce over all.   Serve with roquette greens and lemon wedges.

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in American, Cooking, fish, Food and Wine, Main dishes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Salmon with Yellow Pepper Saffron Sauce for Jenny

  1. jade says:

    ils sont douce les couleurs ca fait trop beau

  2. Phenomenal looking recipe. Love the incorporation of saffron. Cheers!

  3. Looks awesome. Saffron and mustard, what’s not to love.

  4. ambrosiana says:

    Excellent recipe!! I liked the combination of saffron and peppers!!

  5. joshuafagans says:

    Love the idea of peppers with saffron and great photos too!

  6. Karen says:

    What glorious color! The sauce sounds like a great choice for the salmon. I thought your photos were always good but Roger has helped you make them great.

  7. Unique sauce recipe for fish! Salmon is one of my favorites, but some of the recipes I am getting tired of, so I am glad you posted this one. Yum!

  8. Funnily enough I my son brought me some saffron yesterday – could this be a sign.

  9. M M Mullally says:

    The pictures are wonderful & I like your information /stories!! The recipes (I’ve been reading them) sound like something I could do. Who knows – I may cook yet!

Leave a Reply

