It’s My Birthday, But the Director Couldn’t Come

When Burkina Faso was called Upper Volta, there was a song that came out of Ivory Coast called Mon Anniversaire (My Birthday).  It was sung by an Ivorian musician who seemed to have a problem with his love life because he was poor.  His heart-throb dumped him for “the director” who had money and an air-conditioned Mercedes.  The musician, Amadou Balake, had a car so old that whenever the girl would ride with him, she tore her dress. She warns him not to come to her house on her birthday because “the director”  would be there and that the director had given her 100,000 francs as a birthday present, oui.

Well, it’s my birthday today and my director isn’t here but I received lots of presents and had a wonderful meal at the Restaurant de la Cathedrale with my favorite couple, Gilbert and Gilberte Parret.

For entrees we had escargots, a salmon trio and a salad of fois gras with duck magret.

Of course there was a lot of artificial light in the restaurant which gave my pictures a yellow cast but the food and wine were agreeable.

Main courses were a grilled fish trio, kidneys with morilles, duck Magret with honey and beef bavette.

As I had been instructed by you know who, Roger Stowell, I sat facing the window and shot into the light.   The occasional blur was probably M. Parret’s fault because he was being so French that I couldn’t stop laughing.

I had a wonderful day!

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Appetizer, Food and Wine, French, Main dishes and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to It’s My Birthday, But the Director Couldn’t Come

  1. The escargot, and everything else, looks fabulous, yellow cast or not! Happy birthday.

  2. These are the best set of pictures that I have seen you do. Making restaurant plates look good is nearly impossible and you’ve cracked it. I’m so impressed. The Parrets know how to eat and how to look after you, cool people. Happy Birthday.

  3. Karen says:

    Happy Birthday and many more. The meal shared with your friends looks lovely. Wonderful photos.

  4. ambrosiana says:

    I realize how it is difficult to make pictures while in restaurants but yours look great!! Happy Birthday!!!! or as we say in Italy.. Tanti Auguri di Buon Compleanno

  5. joshuafagans says:

    The fish looks great. Happy Birthday!

    • The fish here is good. The restaurant is across the square from the open market that boasts 3 different fish stalls. In addition, on the other side of the market, is a newly opened fish market/oyster bar

  6. Rita Koch says:

    Happy Birthday Rose! I’m sure “your Director” would be there if he could :) Your birthday dinner is making my mouth water. Sounds like you have a great day.
    Best, Rita

  7. Kay Ecker says:

    Happy Belated Birthday Rosemary!! Your meal looks wonderful and you did a great job photographing at a restaurant. I like how you took through the glass in your salmon photo. I’m so jealous of all the delicious food you get in France :)

  8. Pingback: Eating Around: L’Assiette | Cooking in Sens

  9. Pingback: Eating Around: Le Parisien | Cooking in Sens

Leave a Reply

