Pan-fried Pollock with Zucchini and Tomatoes

The vegetable fairy left some garden zucchini in a bag on my front door handle this morning.  That, the lieu noir (pollock) and cherry tomatoes in the fridge pretty much dictated today’s menu.  Also, it’s chore day(bleah!) and who can think when the grimy barbecue grill is calling your name?

Don’t you just love zucchini?   It’s sooo pretty.   And cherry tomatoes are so appetizing, cooked until they blush but before they realize what’s going on and turn pale.

Pan-fried Pollock with Zucchini and Cherry Tomatoes

1 lb pollock fillets, cut into serving pieces

Emeril’s essence

Butter

2 shallots, thinly sliced vertically

2 small zucchini, cut in to ribbons

1 cup cherry tomatoes

Salt and pepper

Season the fish with Emeril’s essence and set aside while you prepare the vegetables.

Saute the shallots in butter for about 1 minute, add the zucchini and continue to saute for another minute.  Add the tomatoes and cook for another 2-3 minutes.  Remove from pan and keep warm.

In the same pan used for the vegetables, add a little more butter and cook the fish, browning on both sides.  Serve with the vegetables and a little mint taboule.

Wine suggestion:  Petit Chablis

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in American, Cooking, fish, Food and Wine, French, Main dishes, Recipes, side dish and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Pan-fried Pollock with Zucchini and Tomatoes

  1. What a fresh, satisfying dish. Your vegetables look beautiful.

  2. ambrosiana says:

    Excellent summer recipe! Your photos are stunning! I also love zucchini and cherry tomatoes. I can’t get enough of them!!

  3. Beautiful pictures! And the veggies look so fresh and tasty :)

  4. Karen says:

    You must have used a mandolin for the zucchini…the dish is beautiful. I think the reason I love summer so much is for the abundance of fresh vegetables.

    • Hi Karen. Thank you. Actually, I didn’t use a mandolin but a horizontal vegetable peeler. My mandolin is in one of the hundreds of boxes, unpacked, in the garage.

  5. Carrie says:

    What a gorgeous, colorful supper and picture. These kinds of light meals are some of my favorites in the summer time!

  6. Kay Ecker says:

    Wow, the photos are absolutely beautiful!! The colors really pop. Did you use extra lighting for the photo on the cutting board? It looks like a food mag pic. I always have probs with lighting for my prep work. Your whole dish looks delicious…the fish looks perfectly crispy and I love how you veggie peeler sliced your zucchini:)

    I think I need to concentrate more on how to improve my photos again;-)

  7. Pingback: Seven Link Challenge: Thanks Roger | Cooking in Sens

  8. I just found this website very interesting for me, I will bookmark it to come back again.Cheers!

Leave a Reply

