Tacos Carnitas with Salsa and Guacamole

Mexican pork carnitas are very easy to make.  It’s just a matter of boiling pieces of pork until the water has evaporated, and then browning the pieces in the fat that has been rendered by the boiling.  “Nickel”!  as they say here.

You end up with crusty, succulent pieces of meat that are perfect for wrapping in a tortilla with guacamole and fresh salsa.

The boy made this guacamole by feel.  I believe he used avocados, tomatoes, red onion, lime juice and cilantro.  Very good.

The wonderful thing about salsa is that you can adjust it to taste.  It doesn’t have to be tear-inducing spicy.   I think the important word is “fresh”.

pork carnitas on Foodista

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Cooking, Food and Wine, Main dishes, Mexican and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Tacos Carnitas with Salsa and Guacamole

  1. Looks wonderful. I always do mine by taste too. Your carnitas sound great too. I love Mexican food.

  2. Yes, Rufus, I think when I come back from the States I’ll do a little bit more Mexican. I love it too!

  3. This looks oh so good! It is impossible to get good Mexican food in Israel (I know, not a huge shocker) so I have taken to making my own and am always looking for great recipes. This one is going on the list! Thanks.

Leave a Reply

