Mushroom Ragout

Chores today(I hate that).   Also I need to start preparing for our trip to the U.S. to see my darlin’ sworn in as the first USAID Mission Director for Southern Sudan.  So proud! Still, one must eat.

I’m going to call on one of my fellow bloggers at Rufus’ Food and Spirit Guide http://rufusguide.wordpress.com/ to tell me what kind of garlic this is.  Look at how big it is!  It’s sort of milder, greener and juicier then regular garlic, with really big cloves.  Fantastic to cook with.

Mushroom Ragout

1 lb of mushrooms, sliced thick

1 red bell pepper, diced

3 shallots, sliced thin, vertically

3 large cloves, slice thin, vertically

3 tbsp butter

1/2 cup white wine

Salt and pepper

Saute the shallots, garlic and bell pepper in the butter until the shallots have wilted.   Add the mushrooms and cook, stirring,  for about 3 minutes.  Season with salt and pepper. Add the white wine, turn up the flame and boil for about 3-5 minutes.

Jade’s plate of pork chop, tartiflette and mushroom ragout.

mushroom ragout on Foodista

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Cooking, Food and Wine, French, Main dishes, Recipes, side dish and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Mushroom Ragout

  1. The kind I don’t grow! Ha, I think that’s elephant garlic, but you know I’m going to be wrong and a dozen people will tell us so. Too bad, I’m going with elephant. Thanks for the shout out. That ragout looks amazing! Congrats to the darlin too!

  2. Thanks Rufus. Elephant sounds good to me.

  3. That purplish color reminds me of a shallot. Maybe it’s related? My husband just bought some garlic and planted it in our garden. I don’t think he has a clue what kind he got! Love the mushroom ragout, then again, I love mushrooms!

Leave a Reply

