New and Improved Pork n Beans

Pretty busy day.   My daughter had to go to the hair salon, I needed to find a really cheap replacement for her 3rd lost phone and do some shopping before my husband and son arrive on Friday.   I didn’t intend to cook anything; the pork n beans just happened.

How many, oh Lord, bags of dried beans do I have in the cabinet?  Lots, so that I will always have them on hand to soak overnight when I intend to make a bean dish.  So why are there canned beans in my pork stew?   The key word here is “intend”.   I didn’t intend to make a bean dish.   But I’m glad I did.   For those of you who make this, and it’s worth making, use dry beans, soak them overnight and cook them with the pork.

I used a cut called echine de porc or pork loin to make this stew.   I bought a little rolled pork roast of about a pound and a half, removed the strings and cut it into bite sized pieces.  This cut was perfect because in 1 hour of boiling, it was fork tender.  If you are going to use a cheaper cut, you’ll need to pressure cook it or boil longer.

Pork Stew

1 1/2 lbs pork, cut into cubes

2 tbsp olive oil

2 onions, chopped

4 garlic cloves, chopped

4 cups diced tomatoes

4 cups water

1 tbsp oregano

2 tsp cumin

4-5 sprigs of dried thyme

2 large cans of white beans, drained and rinsed

Diced green and red pepper, sliced scallions and diced tomato mixed

Brown the pork in the olive oil.  Add the onions and garlic and cook until soft.   Add the tomatoes, water, oregano, cumin and thyme.  Bring to a boil, then lower to simmer for 1 hour.  Add the beans and cook for an additional 20-30 minutes.  Top with the pepper mixture and serve.

Do make the topping of diced green and red peppers, scallions and tomatoes.  The crunch of the raw vegetables contrasts beautifully with the creamy beans and the melt in your mouth pork.

pork stew with beans on Foodista

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in American, Cooking, Food and Wine, Main dishes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to New and Improved Pork n Beans

  1. What a hearty meal. I love that you just threw that together!

  2. Kay Ecker says:

    I love pork & beans and your’s sure does not look like the typical one :o) I think your beautiful photograph makes it even look more delicious! What would people in Sens think about it;o) Hope you have a great day of shopping in Paris! How long does it take to get there from your place?

  3. Hi Kay. Paris is 55 minutes away by TGV train. It’s possible to do an easy shopping trip there and back. I actually gave a couple of mini le creuset casseroles of the pork and beans to my neighbors and they said “oh good, cassoulet”; which it isn’t really but they were pleased.

  4. Kay Ecker says:

    I love riding the train in Europe! It’s just not the same riding on Amtrack…lol. That’s so cute that your neighbors saw it as cassoulet! Well it does have similar beans:)

Leave a Reply

