Yakisoba, Japanese Fast Food

I suppose I’m not so much of a Wagamama addict, as a Asian noodle addict.  Every time I see a bowl of noodles, especially with soup, I want some.  This might have it’s roots in our visit to People’s Republic of China when we had to escape the taxi driver/security agent to eat street food(long story).

For instance, I was looking at Kay’s site http://myhomecookedmeals.blogspot.com/ and saw some curry udon soup.  I wanted some.   Because fresh udon is so much better than dried, I went to the Sushi Boutique website, located in Paris, and ordered some fresh udon.  Delivery is usually rapid and I figured I’d be eating that curry soup in 3-4 days.   Not this time.

First the delivery was delayed and second, when it arrived today,  the fresh udon noodles were back ordered.  Shoot!   I had ordered a couple of small packages of fresh yakisoba noodles just to try, thank God, otherwise I don’t think I could have lived with my shame.

Yakisoba is a fried Japanese noodle, fast food dish with it’s origins in China.   I don’t know if I’ve ever eaten any before today.   Not difficult to make, it’s a mixture of vegetables and optional meat/seafood with seasonings and noodles.  Using Rasa Malaysia as my guide, I looked in the fridge and freezer, found chicken thighs, cabbage, snow peas, scallions and carrots.  To this I added chopped ginger, garlic and the Japanese Holy Trinity of tamari soy sauce, mirin and sake.  I could mention the sugar and sesame oil also but then it wouldn’t be a trinity, would it?

Yakisoba 

4 chicken thighs, boned, skinned and cut into bite sized pieces

2 garlic cloves, chopped

1 inch ginger, thinly sliced

4 scallions, thinly sliced

2 tbsp peanut oil

1 cup cabbage, chopped

1/2 cup carrots, shredded

1 cup snow peas, cut in half diagonally

1 cup of fresh yakisoba noodles, rinsed and drained

2 tbsp tamari soy sauce

1 tbsp sake

1 tbsp mirin

Dash of pepper

1 tsp sugar

1/2 tsp sesame oil

Salt to taste

Saute the garlic, scallions and ginger in the peanut oil until just soft.  Add the chicken and saute until all pink is gone.  Add the cabbage, carrots and snow peas and saute for about 2 minutes.  Add noodles, soy sauce, sake, mirin, pepper, sugar, sesame oil and salt.  Cook for about 3 minutes.  Serve immediately with some Japanese beer, like Sapporo.

Chicken Yakisoba on Foodista

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Asian, bento, Chinese, Cooking, Food and Wine, Japanese, Main dishes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Yakisoba, Japanese Fast Food

  1. That looks really fresh and light! Nice photos, once again.:)

  2. Kay Ecker says:

    Thanks for linking my post :o) I’m very honored! Your Yakisoba looks wonderful! My mother used to make it when I was growing up, but it wasn’t as fancy as yours. She’d put cabbage and deli ham in it…lol Some dried Udon is pretty good, it’s like dried pasta, some are good and some are not so good. I like ones that are labeled “Sanuki Udon”. Also you can stock upon dried Udon and always have it in your pantry:o)

    • I’m glad I found your site Kay. You’re making some food that I would like to eat. As for the dried Udon, I’ll look for Sanuki Udon next time in Paris which will be Tuesday.

  3. Nami says:

    I came to your site from Kay’s facebook post. Your Yakisoba looks delish! My kids prefer Yaki udon over Yakisoba, but either way, it’s a simple meal with lots of veggies in it so I love it. I loved how you styled the dish in last picture! ;-)

  4. kat says:

    YUM! I love yakisoba, that looks soooo good! I love any excuse to eat noodles! Thanks for sharing :)

  5. Thanks Kat. I was just thinking of making noodles today

Leave a Reply

