Grilled Chicken with Cherry Salsa for Donald

Donald P.  is an old friend of mine.   Meaning that I’ve known him for over 30 years, and he’s old :)   Poor thing, his doctor told him that he could no longer continue to eat “high on the hog”, in fact, that he should avoid the hog entirely.  I know Dave, I was incredulous!

But anyway, I promised Donald about maybe a month ago that I would start featuring some healthier food recipes.   Well it seems that since I made that promise, it’s been fried this, dessert that, unforgivable, fatty, goose liver.   Sorry about that Donald, but today’s your day.  This chicken’s for you!

Jose, who takes care of my tiny garden, has brought me fresh cherries from his “old one’s” tree again.   Cherry salsa!  Healthy and good.  Pits?  I laugh in the face of pits, ha, ha, ha.

Cherry Salsa

2 cups of pitted and coarsely chopped cherries

1 fresh, green, hot pepper(jalapeno, serrano), seeded and chopped

2 shallots, chopped

1/4 cup basil leaves, chopped

2 tsp balsamic vinegar

1/4 tsp salt

1/4 tsp pepper

Mix all ingredients together and refrigerate for at least 1 hour.   Serve with marinated grilled chicken.

Chicken Marinade

Juice of one ruby red grapefruit

Juice of one lime

2 large cloves of garlic, chopped

2 tbsp chopped hot, green pepper

1 tsp cumin

1 tsp salt

1 lb skinless chicken breasts

Mix all ingredients together and marinate for 1 to 2 hours.  Grill.

A thick slice of grilled bacon is optional.

cherry salsa on Foodista

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in American, Cooking, Food and Wine, Fruit, Main dishes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Grilled Chicken with Cherry Salsa for Donald

  1. Feeding Time says:

    Wow! Cherry salsa has me all excited! Can’t wait til cherries are in season here.
    Thanks for the recipe,
    Nicole

  2. I don’t even pit cherries that often and I want one of those gizmos! I love this recipe. It’s so fresh and colorful and it really makes me look forward to cherry season. I think ours is almost here. Oh and of course, great photos. You have a wonderful eye.

  3. Donald P. says:

    Thanx Rose Dear U R A SweetHeart for thinking so fondly of lil’ ole me…lol.
    Looks Delish! gonna make some 2Moro…

Leave a Reply

