Soba Noodle Soup

If you have been craving slurp-able Japanese noodle soup,  today is the day!   Boy howdy, this was really good!   I had no idea what I was doing, until I had done it.   I believe it was the soaking liquid for the dried, maybe shimeji, mushrooms that was the rock on which this soup was built.

I woke up this morning with a vague idea about doing something with my Asian supplies I had purchased in Paris.   I had some dried mushrooms, a variety of noodles, powdered dashi and some fried fish cake in the freezer.  Really, I wasn’t very enthusiastic, I just knew I would cook something.

I looked at the dried mushrooms and for the first time asked myself, “What are these”?  The languages on the package were Chinese and German; go figure.  I looked up the German on the internet and it seems these might be dried shimeji but they didn’t quite look like the fresh.  So, I’m still not sure.

Cute, though.

I managed to cook the soba noodles just right so that they were cooked but firm, thereby slurp-able.

Noodles and Soup Base 

2 cups dried shimeji mushrooms

4 1/2 cups hot water

2 heaping tsp dashi powder

2 tbsp tamari soy sauce

1 tbsp mirin

1 tbsp sugar

2 bundles of dried soba noodles

Soak the mushrooms in the hot water for 30 minutes to 1 hour.   Strain the mushrooms, reserving the liquid.   Add the dashi powder, soy sauce, mirin and sugar to the reserved liquid.   Bring the liquid to a boil and simmer for about 15 minutes.   Keep warm.

Put the noodles in boiling water and boil for 4 minutes.   Drain and rinse with cold water.

Toppings

2 boil eggs, sliced in half

2 cups of cooked spinach

2 cups of soaked, dried shimeji mushrooms; tough stem bottoms cut off and mushrooms boiled for about 15 minutes.

Sliced fish cake

Sliced scallions

Pikliz http://cookinginsens.wordpress.com/2011/05/18/haitian-poulet-creole-with-pikliz/

Place the noodles equally in 4 bowls.   Arrange toppings on the noodles and ladle the soup base over all.

Soba on Foodista

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Asian, Cooking, Food and Wine, Japanese, Main dishes, Soup and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Soba Noodle Soup

  1. Wow, that looks great. I’m not familiar with those type of mushrooms, but I want to be! Bet you can get anything in Paris.

    • You certainly can get a lot more in Paris than is available here in Sens. I’m not complaining; it’s nice here and friendly. And also Paris is only 55 minutes away by TGV train.

  2. hungry dog says:

    This looks great! I never think to make noodle soup but I do love it. I am glad I discovered your blog. I just went to France for the first time last month and totally fell in love with it. Look forward to following your cooking adventures.

  3. This looks great!! I have never used those mushrooms before. Maybe I will search for them next week!

  4. Deborah Ho says:

    This looks awesome! I believe these are the mushrooms: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/File:EnokitakeJapaneseMushroom.jpg
    They’re Enokitake mushrooms, or straw mushrooms, as we usually call them in Asia.

    • Hi Deborah. You know, I looked at the Enokitake mushroom but I didn’t think about how they would look dried! Duh. Thank you for the information. I’ve eaten fresh enoki (straw) mushrooms in various restaurants. Either way, dried or fresh, they are good!

  5. Pingback: Somen Noodles with Shrimp and Pork Belly | Cooking in Sens

  6. Pingback: Soba Noodles with Veal and Scallops | Cooking in Sens

  7. Cross5Star says:

    Just googled Soba Noodles and your post was one of the first to come up! I was planning on just buying the normal base from the store…but your recipe looks so much better! Me = hungry right now!

Leave a Reply

