Deep Fried Salmon with Creole Remoulade

I know this is almost sacrilegious, saying salmon and deep fried in the same sentence but I needed an excuse to fry something with panko again (the oysters were not enough) and to use Dave’s Creole Remoulade sauce.  If you don’t know who Dave is, “you been sleepin”.  http://www.therootertothetooter.com

Dave’s Creole Remoulade Sauce

2 cups mayo, 3 Tbsp creole mustard (or whole grain), 1/2 cup minced celery, 2 clove garlic minced, 1 Tbsp capers, 3 Tbsp sweet relish, 2 Tbsp dill relish, 1Tbsp horseradish, 5 dashes tabasco, 5 dashes Worcestershire, 2 Tbsp tomato paste, 1/4c fresh chopped flat leaf parsley, 1 1/2 lemons juiced, 1/4 cup chopped green onion

Good with veg too!

While waiting for them to shuck my oysters yesterday,  I was distracted by the salmon fillet display; thick slices of firm, orange elegance.   I had to buy some!   At the time, I was thinking “salmon plus marinade plus grill plus salad equals Sunday dinner”. Unfortunately, I was lead into sin on the day after the “rapture manque” by the crispy, juicy goodness of yesterday’s, too few oysters.

I wondered, had anyone else had the brass to deep fry salmon?    Yep.  I found many a sin against salmon on the internet.   “The French are going to really hate this”, I chortled.

I prayed that M. Parret wouldn’t stop by while I was frying the salmon.

He never forgave me for roasting the prime rib with mustard and mustard seed:       http://cookinginsens.wordpress.com/2011/04/10/eating-french/

” It’s good, but that’s not the way you make prime rib”, said he.   I tried to explain that, yes, every cuisine has traditional ways of preparing certain foods but it doesn’t mean that that is the only “good” way of preparing something.   “Non, tu n’as pas raison” , said he.   So frustrating, it’s like talking to a, well, hard headed, old French guy.  Exactly :)

Anyway, just make the salmon using the same cornstarch, egg, panko routine as with the oysters.  http://cookinginsens.wordpress.com/2011/05/21/oysters-two-ways-kaki-furai-and-baked-with-garlic-and-parsley/

Serve with the remoulade sauce and large glasses of Champagne.

Remoulade on Foodista

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in American, Appetizer, Cooking, fish, Food and Wine, Main dishes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Deep Fried Salmon with Creole Remoulade

  1. Dave says:

    I LOVE that you left the skin on!
    Any apartments for rent? I wanna argue with some old Frenchie about food! Although I doubt my Cajun Patois would do me any good.

  2. I always leave the skin on, unless I’m making rillettes or something. The old French guy has an apartment for rent :)

  3. I kind of brace myself whenever I click on you blog. I’m thinking oh what’s going to be tempting me now. I love this recipe. And great photos, once again.

  4. Don says:

    great idea for quick frying salmon!

  5. hungry dog says:

    That salmon looks delicious, both raw and fried. And what isn’t good with a large glass of champagne?

  6. Pingback: Capitaine: Nile Perch with Twice Cooked Yams | Cooking in Sens

  7. Pingback: Catfish Salad Meli-Melo | Cooking in Sens

  8. kat says:

    I had this for dinner tonight! It was so good and different eating salmon this way!

Leave a Reply

