Oysters Two Ways: Kaki Furai and Baked with Garlic and Parsley

I’ve been dreaming of my mother’s fried oysters.   I just didn’t want to shuck any oysters.   There’s plenty of them in the open market, supermarket and in the new fish market across the street from the open market.   I just didn’t want to shuck them.   I bought an oyster knife, just in case my craving overcame my good sense, but still, I hesitated.  “Why can’t they just have them pre-shucked in a jar, like in the States?”, I whined.

Today, I finally made up my mind.   I got my shopping basket, went to the new fish market and said, “Will you please shuck 18 oysters, put them in this  jar (Mason) with the liquid and give me the bottom shells.   He did, I paid and everyone was happy.  Darn skippy!

Now that’s what I like!   Add chopped parsley, butter and garlic, bake for 20 minutes, taste and cry MORE!

In case, you are the kind of person who would like to shuck your own oysters (probably Dave), but don’t know how, here’s the video.

For the fried oysters, I decided to go Japanese with panko bread crumbs and a dollop of homemade tartar sauce; Kaki Furai.  The Normandy oysters were on the small side and 12, split between me and Jade, just didn’t seem quite enough.  These were good!

The tartar sauce was rich and perfect for the oysters.   Use a good prepared mayonnaise (refrigerated section of the supermarket) or make your own.

Baked Oysters

6 oysters, shucked and rinsed.  Reserve bottom shells.

2 garlic cloves, chopped

2 tbsp parsley, chopped

Butter, melted

Salt and Pepper

Lemon wedges

Preheat oven to 375 degrees.   Place the oysters on the shells and top with the garlic, parsley, butter, salt and pepper.   Bake for 20 minutes.  Serve with lemon wedges.

Kaki Furai Oysters

12 oysters, shucked, rinsed and blotted dry

Cornstarch

1 egg, beaten

Panko

Peanut oil for deep frying

Dredge the oysters in cornstarch, then in beaten egg, then in panko.  Deep fry in the oil until golden brown.   Serve with tartar sauce.

Tartar Sauce

1 cup of mayonnaise

1 tbsp of Dijon mustard

1/2 cup cornichons, chopped

2 scallions, chopped

1 shallot, chopped

2 tsp lemon juice

5 drops of Sriracha sauce

Salt and pepper to taste

Mix all ingredients together and refrigerate until use.

normandy oysters on Foodista

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in American, Appetizer, Asian, Cooking, fish, Food and Wine, French, Hors d'oeuvres, Japanese, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Oysters Two Ways: Kaki Furai and Baked with Garlic and Parsley

  1. Dave says:

    HAHA!
    I do have an oyster knife that I carry in my shaving kit when I travel at all times!

  2. Dave says:

    Also,

    Seeing this post has me really missing home.

  3. Go home and make me a really special sauce to go with the fried oysters. Please.

  4. Dave says:

    This is the classic Creole Remoulade sauce. Its great with spicy boiled shrimp, fresh picked crab, any fried seafood and I even love it with fries. All the vegetables have to be chopped with a knife. The food processor just mashes and mangles. This recipe recalls a tremendous amount of memories from my childhood. Of course this is the scaled down version from a gallon. But Im confident in it.

    2 cups mayo, 3 Tbsp creole mustard (or whole grain), 1/2 cup minced celery, 2 clove garlic minced, 1 Tbsp capers, 3 Tbsp sweet relish, 2 Tbsp dill relish, 1Tbsp horseradish, 5 dashes tabasco, 5 dashes Worcestershire, 2 Tbsp tomato paste, 1/4c fresh chopped flat leaf parsley, 1 1/2 lemons juiced, 1/4 cup chopped green onion

  5. That’s perfect! I should have asked you this morning. Oh well, I know where the shuckers are now :)

  6. Pingback: Deep Fried Salmon with Creole Remoulade | Cooking in Sens

  7. Pingback: Step Away From the Fish Market! | Cooking in Sens

Leave a Reply

