A Tale of Two Sandwiches

Since I saw that 101 sandwiches article last week, I’ve been sort of obsessing on sandwiches.  I don’t know why, it’s not really my usual thing.   But my husband likes sandwiches.   So….

Decades ago I was reading a book or something about New Orleans’ Po Boy sandwiches.   The author called these sandwiches wife pacifiers.  When a man would stay out late at night and knew he would be in trouble when he came home, he would always bring a shrimp or oyster Po Boy home with him for his wife.  The sandwiches were made in a hollowed out baguette stuffed with seafood in a rich mayonnaise sauce.   I drooled.  That story and the description of the sandwiches has stayed with me.

To make my version of a shrimp Po Boy,  I sprinkled about 300 grams of shrimp with Emeril’s essence and let it sit for a while.   I diced an avocado and added the juice from 1 lime.  I mixed 4 tablespoons of garlic mayonnaise with 2 tablespoons of Poivron Sauce found here: http://cookinginsens.wordpress.com/2011/04/30/i-poached-daves-sweetbread-terrine/  I then sauteed the shrimp in 1 tablespoon of olive oil for about 2 minutes.  I mixed the shrimp, avocado and garlic poivron mayonnaise together.

I had some small breakfast baguettes that were too small to hollow but I split them open and loaded them with the mixture of shrimp, avocado and garlic poivron mayonnaise and sprinkle chopped red pepper on top.  I served this with a small salad of mache and tomato. Good!

My second sandwich was simply a grilled, smoked sausage with garlic mayonnaise and pear salsa.   Go here for the salsa recipe:  http://cookinginsens.wordpress.com/2011/05/02/honey-mustard-pork-rib-roast-with-pear-salsa/

sandwich on Foodista

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in American, Cooking, Food and Wine, Recipes, Sandwich and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Tale of Two Sandwiches

  1. Dave says:

    I was born and raised in New Orleans and your PoBoy looks great! Why am I always hungry?

  2. Thanks Dave. Food is good! Be hungry if you want.

Leave a Reply

