I Poached Dave’s Sweetbreads Terrine!

When I saw the ingredients for this terrine, I knew I was going to attempt it.   Crawfish, veal and sweetbreads; it called my name!   The fact that I had never cooked sweetbreads, caused a slight hesitation for about a minute.  I knew the guy at the triperie would lead me in the right direction; he counseled me for about 15 minute using “special” French.

Today is Friday, a big market day.  I was there in front of the triperie at 8:30 a.m. and I still had to stand in line!  Unfortunately, the triperie was out of veal sweetbreads.   Oh no!   But my man assured me that the small, tender pieces of lamb sweetbreads should work as well.   They were already pretty clean and in neat little pieces.   Sold!  He must have told me a thousand times to put them in cold water when I arrived home.  There was a reason for this.  The cold water disgorges the blood and the sweetbreads look whiter, which I think is a good thing.

The making of this stock with the sweetbreads just lets you know that you are heading in the right direction.

Then, there was the problem with the sliced fatback.   They had salted “poitrine” but it was with bone and they wouldn’t slice it.   So, what the heck, I bought smoked poitrine (bacon) which they did slice.   Sorry Dave.  I also bought langoustine as a substitute for the crawfish tails because they were looking great today!   Hang me.   I was already having fun!  I twisted off the tails of the langoustine and put the heads and claws in a zip lock in the freezer for later use.   When you remove the shells, if you do it just right by pulling the tail fin off, straight back, you will remove the entrails at the same time.  If you don’t, no problem, just make a shallow cut in the back and wash out the black line.

So here we are with the stuffing or farci for the terrine.  Lining the pan with the bacon was a challenge.   I ended up using exactly the amount of bacon I had bought.

Anyway, into the oven,  out, and weighted down with cans overnight.  At this point, the terrine looked tight and right.

In the meantime, I had this idea about make a cold sauce to accompany the terrine.   This was a bit of a poser because this terrine has both meat and fish, though the meat(veal, lamb and pork) was “mildish”.  I went to my French cookbooks; after all, these people have had centuries of eating and cooking the unusual.  I decided to go with the roasted red bell pepper sauce, enlivened with piment espelette.

For the real recipe go here:   http://www.therootertothetooter.com/  It’s a great blog.   Thanks Dave.

I Poached Dave’s Sweetbread Terrine!

1 lb lamb sweetbreads, soaked in cold water for about an hour

2 qts water

1 yellow onion, quartered

1 stalk celery, quartered

1 carrot peeled and quartered

4 cloves garlic

1 cup Bourgogne Aligote

2 tsp ground white pepper

1/4 bunch parsley

4 sprigs tarragon

1 bay leaf

1 tbsp sea salt

2 lb langoustine tails cleaned, shells reserved

1 lb ground veal

1/2 lb fat back, ground

1/4 tsp ground white pepper

1 tsp piment espelette

8 drops Sriracha sauce

2 tbsp fresh tarragon, chopped

1/4 cup parsley, chopped

1 lb of smoked bacon, thinly sliced

In a large pan, bring to a boil the sweetbreads with the water, onion, celery, carrot, garlic, Aligote, white pepper, parsley, tarragon, bay leaf, and sea salt.   Simmer for 25 minutes.

Remove the sweetbreads and chill in an ice water bath.  Strain the broth, then add the langoustine shells, bring to a boil and simmer until the liquid is reduced by half.   Strain and chill broth.

Mix the 1 cup of the chilled broth, sweetbreads, langoustine tails, ground fat back, ground veal, white pepper, piment espelette, Sriracha sauce, tarragon and parsley together in a large bowl.  Line a loaf pan with the smoked bacon and add the sweetbreads mixture.   Fold the bacon over the top and cook in a hot water bath at 350 degrees for 1 1/2 hours.  Allow to cool, pour off any liquid, then cover with aluminum foil, put a weight on top and refrigerate overnight.  Remove from pan, slice and enjoy.

Sauce Poivron

1 8 ounce jar roasted red peppers

2 shallots, chopped

2 garlic cloves, chopped

1 tbsp olive oil

1tablespoon balsamic vinegar

1/2 tsp basil

1/2 tsp thyme

Saute the shallots and garlic in the olive oil until soft.   Add the balsamic vinegar, basil and thyme, cooking for 1 minute.

In a food processor, process the peppers and shallot mixture.   Refrigerate until use.

Terrine on Foodista

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in American, Appetizer, Cooking, Food and Wine, French, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to I Poached Dave’s Sweetbreads Terrine!

  1. Dave says:

    That looks incredible! How do you like it? I cant tell you how many times Ive tried to get lamb sweetbreads with no luck. I have a chunk of mine left and I was going to give it away today. But after looking at yours, I think its going to be breakfast.

    • Dave, it was absolutely fabulous! My “old school” neighbors insisted that the recipe was French. You have given me confidence to work a little more with sweetbreads which I love. Thanks Dave. I’m following your blog!

  2. Pingback: A Tale of Two Sandwiches | Cooking in Sens

  3. Pingback: It’s Within Your Reach: Pesole Soup | The Rooter To The Tooter It’s Within Your Reach: Pesole Soup | A Southern Gentleman's Journey of Nose To Tail Cooking

  4. Pingback: Seven Link Challenge: Thanks Roger | Cooking in Sens

  5. Rebecca Orchant says:

    Hi there!

    My name is Rebecca and I’m one of the Editors at HuffPost Taste. I’m working on a roundup of some of our favorite offal recipes, and would love to feature a photo from this post, pending your permission. We’ll link back to your original post for the recipe. Would you mind just letting me know whether you’d like us to credit the photo to your name or your blog’s name?

    Thanks very much!

    – Rebecca

Leave a Reply

