Dashi Braised Paris Mushrooms

I woke up this morning thinking about bento boxes and my Japanese supplies that are in boxes in the garage.  I went out to the garage and to my surprise, my husband had straightened things around and brought out to the front as much as he could find of my bento accessories.   Thank you dear.

I gathered up a few things, came back to the computer and started lurking around the Rasa Malaysia website.   She always has wonderful, inspiring food and great photos.

I found a recipe for braised fresh shitake mushrooms.   I didn’t have any fresh shitake mushrooms and even though it’s market day and the Vietnamese lady probably does, I couldn’t be bothered.   I had to make do with “les champignons de Paris”.

Dashi Braised Paris Mushrooms:  http://rasamalaysia.com/braised-mushroom-with-dashi/?pid=3190#image-8045

1/2 lb of mushrooms

1 cup of dashi

1 tbsp sake

2 tbsp mirin

2 tbsp tamari soy sauce

1 tsp sugar

Put everything, except the mushrooms, in a sauce pan on medium to low heat until it begins to bubble.   Add the mushrooms, stirring occasionally, until the liquid is reduced by half.   Allow to cool, then slice.



Mushrooms on Foodista

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Asian, Cooking, Food and Wine, Hors d'oeuvres, Japanese, Recipes, side dish, Vegetables and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Dashi Braised Paris Mushrooms

  1. Bunny Eats Design says:

    So simple. Sounds delicious for breakfast, lunch or dinner. Rice or toast?

  2. Nothing like a good mushroom eaten on its own :)

    “Conversation about the weather is the last refuge of the unimaginative.”
    –Oscar Wilde

  3. Kevin Mullally says:

    I LOVE those mushrooms raw! Cooked like that seems fantastic!!! Great pic too!

  4. Pingback: Two Bentos | Cooking in Sens

  5. I have a love for simple recipes, and these mushrooms look awesome!

Leave a Reply

