Foie de Veau aux Oignons Dore et Lardon: Liver and Onions

Jade is turning into a little gourmet or gourmand :)   She wanted veal liver again.   Decided to go old school with onions and bacon, like my mom.

But first I wanted to move some things on that have been taking up space in the freezer.   I found a mediterranean mix of vegetables from this post http://cookinginsens.wordpress.com/2011/02/09/basque-pork-roast-with-vegetables/

I put this in the oven to bake at 350 degrees for 45 minutes while I prepared the onions and liver.

I didn’t want a caramelized look; I was looking for golden.

You can’t photoshop raw liver into beauty.   It is what it is.

But oh my, the transformation!

The recipe for cooking the liver is here:  http://cookinginsens.wordpress.com/2011/03/21/calfs-liver-with-date-and-onion-compote/

Golden Onions and Bacon

1/2 cup of diced bacon

1 tbsp of butter

4 onions, thinly sliced

Salt and pepper to taste

Brown the bacon, then take out of the pan and set aside.   Add the butter to the pan with the onions.   Cook until the onions are golden brown.   Add the reserved bacon and stir to blend.  Add salt and pepper.

Bacon on Foodista

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Cooking, Food and Wine, French, Main dishes and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Foie de Veau aux Oignons Dore et Lardon: Liver and Onions

  1. Mary says:

    What a great job you’ve done with the liver. I haven’t see a new recipe for it in a very long time. When I was a child we would eat liver once a week. Nowadays it is hard to find it in the markets. This is my first visit to your blog so I decided to take some time and browse through your earlier entries. I’m so glad I did. I love the food and recipes you feature here. I’ll definitely be back. I hope you have a great day. Blessings…Mary

  2. dore says:

    thanks you nices post

Leave a Reply

