Truly Spicy Calamari Chowder

I wanted to make something with the frozen calamari rings that I bought the other day and I didn’t want to fry them.  Looking around the internet, I found an idea at about.com that I thought I could work with.   Unfortunately, I woke up this morning with a severe case of “c’est moi qui le fait!” which loosely translated means,  “I’M doing this!”

To the market I went, pretty much shopping for the ingredients recommended by the recipe at about.com.   Understandably, I opted for the fresh tomatoes rather than the canned, a spicier onion, more garlic; just little things.  I was completely in agreement with the scotch bonnet but instead of one, I bought two.

Lots of beautiful vegetables in the market today.   The red potatoes were especially fetching.  I’ve got to find something to make with fennel!   This is the season and I love a cucumber fennel salad,  but I want to branch out.

Anyway,  peppers, carrots, celery, onion, garlic, bacon, a little butter, how could you go wrong?  I’ll tell you how.

 

The recipe called for the scotch bonnet to be enclosed in a tied cheesecloth pouch with the herbs and cooked in the chowder like that.  I didn’t do that.   I dumped everything directly in the pot.  I did remove the scotch bonnet seeds and I only used one scotch bonnet, thank the lord.   The chowder is excellent but truly, truly spicy.

For the original recipe go here:   http://homecooking.about.com/od/soups/r/blss178.htm. If you are looking for a thrill:

C’est Moi Qui le Fait Calamari Chowder

2lb frozen calamari rings

1/2 cup bacon, diced

1 tbsp butter

2 large ribs of celery, diced

2 large carrots, peeled and diced

1 large onion, diced

1 large bell pepper, diced

3 large cloves of garlic, chopped

1 scotch bonnet, seeded and chopped

1 teaspoon of dried thyme

1 teaspoon of dried oregano

1 large bay leaf

1/2 tsp each; pepper, ground cloves, ground cinnamon, ground nutmeg

1 tsp salt

4 cups of fish stock

1 lb of tomatoes, pureed

2 tbsp of tomato paste

2 tbsp of lime juice

1 tbsp dark soy sauce

1lb of red potatoes, peeled and diced.

In a large pot, fry the bacon until slightly browned.  Add the butter, celery, carrots, onion, bell pepper and garlic.  Saute until the onion is soft.  Then add the scotch bonnet, thyme, oregano, bay leaf, pepper, cloves, cinnamon, nutmeg, salt and stir for one minute.  Pour in stock, tomatoes, tomato paste, lime juice and soy sauce.   Bring to a boil, reduce heat and simmer for 30 minutes.
Add potatoes and cook until tender.   Add calamari rings and cook for 2 minutes.  Serve with a nice peasant loaf and butter.

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in American, Cooking, Food and Wine, Main dishes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Truly Spicy Calamari Chowder

  1. I’d like to try that. Too bad you didn’t see that recipe when you were in Dakar – with all the calamari here!!

Leave a Reply

